We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A moving experience that defined our trip to Flanders” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frontline Tours

Frontline Tours
Grote Markt 1, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
0032474367608
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We invite you to join us in the comfort of our air-conditioned Mercedes minibus, for an interesting, informative and unforgettable journey through Flanders Fields and its amazing history.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A moving experience that defined our trip to Flanders”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We booked this tour at the last minute at the Flanders Fields Museum and it covered the Ypres Salient. Lionel Roosemont was our guide and I'm a big fan. It was just my sister and me so he made some recommendations and then let us personalize our tour. We learned so much and it was very touching at times - what a gift to travel the countryside with such an expert and master storyteller! It was an unforgettable experience, I highly recommend booking this tour.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
KKTC
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Belgian Frontline.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

This is our second tour with Lionel and Frontline tours and what good value his tours are.

We fancied something a little different this time so asked Lionel to take us on a tour of the Belgian frontline. This tour is really worth doing, lasting over four hours the tour takes you to the area held by the belgians around the town of Diksmuide and beyond and also taking in a fascinating visit to the IJser Gate monument (small additional entrance fee)which is dedicated to the memory of the 40,000 Belgians that lost their lives during the conflict. The IJer Tower not often visited by the average tour group is a point of pilgrimage for Femish Nationalists and it is a real insight into the reasonsoning behind the difficulties the two national groups (Flemish and French) than make up the state of Belgium as it exists today. It houses an excellent museum dedicated to Flanders history which of course includes a well laid out and informative section dedicated to the Fist and Second World Wars.

Lionel is a 'one man band' and goes out of his way to offer good value and highly original tours of the West Flanders area. Sign up for any of his tours and you won't be disappointed as he is a mine of information on the First and Second World War and the Flanders area in general.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Unbelievable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Were a Canadian couple and we only booked a 4 hour private tour due to time restraints. I could have stayed a week. Lionel was AWESOME. He took us to the major Canadian monuments and battle sites....... the knowlodge and pictures for WW1 were absolutely astonishing. I am definately going back to spend more time. Cheers!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wow! What an enthraling, illuminating experience. Thoroughyly recommended.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

On Saturday 25th June, 2011 our party of five (two adults and three teenage girls) took a four-hour whistle-stop tour of several key sites in the area under Lionel's guidance. His enthusiasm and detailed knowledge of the big picture and minutiae of WWI made this an unforgettable experience. He brought each site to life with explanations of the general situation and then with anecdotes about specific individuals (including, for example, pictures and letters), which made it educational and moving.
If you are considering visiting the area I'm sure you can't go wrong with Lionel.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Journey back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

The Guides power of description was awesome, highly recommended and thank you to Mike at De Nacht Wacht for arranging this.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frontline Tours also viewed

Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 

Been to Frontline Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frontline Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.