We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So friendly and caring.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambrosia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ambrosia Hotel to your Saves list
Ambrosia Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   D'Hondtstraat 54, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“So friendly and caring.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We were only here one night to see the Menin Gate ceremony, the Host who looked after us was amazing, she was from the Philippines, could not have been more helpful and caring, I hurt my knee during our Holiday, and we were encouraged to stay as late as needed and was well past check out when we went. Over breakfast, she sat down with us and we talked about Australia where she has family and we are from. The room was small but comfortable, very clean and homely.

Highly recommend this Hotel and will happily stay there again.

Room Tip: Only 10 rooms, so book in fast
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    114
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
75
126
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orpington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Four of us , members of the Western Front Association , stay here every year and most recently October 2013. A very nice small family run hotel located near the Menin Gate and Main Square. Nice tidy rooms and great cooked breakfast. Well situated for Tyne Cot , Hill 60 etc and all the other WW1 tours.

Room Tip: There is no allocated parking but you use the side streets or just outside the hotel for a small fee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungannon, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

My Father, Uncle and I stayed here on our recent WW1 battlefield tour and we were very impressed with the quality of the rooms and the attitude of the staff. They also do a bacon and eggs cooked breakfast which was very welcome after a night out in Ypres. The hotel is a short walk from the main square and Menin Gate, @2mins, and we were able to park right outside the door, which was nice. And the parking is free at weekends, which was very nice.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This was a surprisingly nice and comfortable little hotel for the price - definitely with a B&B feel. Our room was clean, a decent size, the beds were comfortable, and all the staff was friendly and welcoming. The choice of hot breakfast in the morning was a very pleasant surprise - many places we've stayed in this same class only offer continental breakfast. But as soon as I came down in the morning, the hotel's owner Vincent hopped up, donned an apron and asked if I'd like bacon, eggs, and toast. And it was fantastic! There was free parking close by and the hotel is located on a quiet side street just a minutes' walk from the main square (containing lots of bars, restaurants and chocolate shops) and Menin Gate. The WIFI was fast and free and we got a great signal in our room on the second floor.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Had a one night stay here with friends. On arrival the receptionist could not have been more helpful including assisting with spotting a parking space. The room was a little on the small side, no problem for one night, and was spotlessly clean; as was the rest of the hotel. The breakfast was excellent and cooked before you very eyes.
The location is ideal, only a few hundred metres from the centre of Ypres. There’s plenty of parking around, free and chargeable. Although a hotel it has the feel a very good quality B&B.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and will return the next time I’m in Ypres. My only regret was that my stay wasn’t longer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Really nice place hosted by lovely couple. Room was small but very clean and nice. Breakfast was great. The whole place was spotless. I loved that they had vending machines in reception for cold drinks/beer/tea and coffee. The staff are very helpful and nice.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, england
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

stayed for 1 night in a triple room in oct. Room was fine - basic but clean and met our needs for a 1 night stay. The location is perfect, just a few mins walk from the main square with all the bars and restaurants and of course the menin gate. The breakfast was great - eggs and bacon cooked to order! as others have said the place is really more like a B&B and the receptionist was very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this place as a great place to stay in Ypres

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambrosia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambrosia Hotel

Address: D'Hondtstraat 54, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
#4 Business Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ambrosia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable, cozy, homy, renewed familyhotel at 300m from the square. Easy going attitude. Great cooked and cold breakfast. Free fast wifi and 50 English tvchannels. Bicycle, scooter and motorbikehire. Looking forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ambrosia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrosia Hotel Ypres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambrosia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.