We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very central stop off” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambrosia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ambrosia Hotel to your Saves list
Ambrosia Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   D'Hondtstraat 54, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Stamford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A very central stop off”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

A stop off whilst cycling in the area, very friendly welcome, bikes stored overnight and room clean and comfortable. Excellent breakfast before resuming bike ride and plenty of good coffee. A useful map was given on arrival explaining where various landmarks were in the town which was a good idea. Our room was rather small but comfortable, Creaky floorboards above created various rattles with wardrobe doors.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    114
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
75
126
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Great Bookham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

If you are planning either a battlefield tour or just a a few days away,this is a good choice for somewhere to stay.I have stayed here twice and on each occasion have not been disappointed.
Located 250 meters from the main square in Ypres,the sights and restaurants of the town are easily accessible.
The hotel is clean and comfortable,with good and helpful service.With breakfast included in the price and free WiFi ,this is a good value stay.Parking didn't pose a problem with off street parking in and around the hotel itself.
Above all you're made to feel welcome.
Richard M

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We booked 3 nights here based on previous reviews and were not disappointed. The location is perfect; 5 minutes to the Menin Gate and downtown shopping and 10 minutes to the train station. Our hosts were attentive and willing to offer directions and suggestions regarding all Ieper has to offer. The breakfast options were great and our bellies were plenty full for two long days of tours. If we could we would have stayed in Ieper much longer and The Ambrosia would be our hotel of choice. If you are looking for a quiet, peaceful escape during your getaway then I highly recommend Ieper and The Ambrosia with Vincent and his family.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 which was immediately next to the front desk. I worried that this would be loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Situated a couple of blocks from the centre of town, this wonderful small family hotel is just fantastic. Very clean, with comfortable beds, the only thing missing is coffee/tea making facilities in the rooms (however there are drinks available in reception).

On arrival you are made very welcome, and directions to all the visitor attractions are supplied. If you buy tickets to the "In Flanders Fields" exhibition from reception you get a 1euro discount.

Very reasonable rates a nd a great breakfast! What more can you want?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, England
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I booked based on recommendations of fellow travellers - thank you! I stayed in the twin room in the attic. Plenty of room and clean. Beds very comfy. Price included breakfast - good choice of food and drink on offer. The price was good value for money. Coffee/tea and various beers/soft drinks available to buy at all times in reception at good prices. Staff very friendly - directed me to free parking across the way and recommended sites to visit. The location was excellent - 5 mins from the central square/ Menin Gate. I really liked Ypres/Leper and wish to return again with my family next time. I will certainly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Renfrewshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

what a little find thanks to past reviewers modern,clean,friendly and a choice of breakfast included Our rom was up in the attic, dont be put off, very comfartable twin beded room with all mod cons.
Great value for money keep it up a lot of bigger hotels should come and see how its done

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Small, cosy hotel with real personal service. Excellent location - only 5 mins walk from all main items of interest in Ieper. Rooms very clean and comfortable, free wifi, 24hr coffee at nominal charge. Owners cook breakfast for you themselves just the way you ask for it. Really would recommend this as a great place to stay. Plus best pub in Ypres is only a few doors down the road.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambrosia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambrosia Hotel

Address: D'Hondtstraat 54, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
#4 Business Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ambrosia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable, cozy, homy, renewed familyhotel at 300m from the square. Easy going attitude. Great cooked and cold breakfast. Free fast wifi and 50 English tvchannels. Bicycle, scooter and motorbikehire. Looking forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ambrosia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrosia Hotel Ypres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambrosia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.