We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Au Vieux Port

Au Vieux Port
Visserskaai 32, Ostend 8400, Belgium
+32 59 70 31 28
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 242 restaurants in Ostend
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Het restaurant is NIET gesloten, in tegenstelling tot wat in de titel vermeld wordt.
Bredene
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Very friendly reception, good traditional Belgian cuisine, and very efficient staff. A place to return to. Although living in Ostend since 30 years it was our first visit and we really enjoyed it.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    69
    41
    5
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ostende, Belgium
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“One of the best in Oostende”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Visiting this restaurant for many times and several years ,and allways be served ,me and my friends near perfect..

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walmer, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“An excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Good ambience, attentive staff and beautifully cooked food that was well presented. The Menu Gastronomique @ 37Euros was good value.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
1 review
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

Let's be clear: the food was OK. But that's a far cry from being worth 176 Euros for supper for two. Which I consider a small fortune. So it should be out of the ordinary. Which it was by no means. Bye. PS: this has been an expensive lesson - online reviews have extremely little value. And Yes, the waiters were friendly. Shaking my head in disbelief...

  • Visited September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Flanders
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 144 cities Reviews in 144 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“When in Ostend, look no further”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

I have to agree with what the other reviewers have said: this is an outstanding place. Rarely have I come upon a restaurant that offers such a terrific price/quality ratio, all this in pleasant surroundings. We both had the menu of 34.95 and every course was delicious. We also appreciated the little extras, like the “amuse-bouches” and the bread they keep offering.
The service was also excellent: all waiters and the hostess were very attentive and friendly, even though we came from the beach and weren’t exactly dressed for dinner.
Just one small downside: we had to wait for quite a long time for our main course. It was a Saturday night and the place was packed, so that’s understandable.
The people sitting close to us all seemed to be regular guests, which is always a good sign. We’ll definitely go back as well next time we’re in Ostend.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au Vieux Port also viewed

Ostend, West Flanders Province
Ostend, West Flanders Province
 
Ostend, West Flanders Province
Ostend, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Au Vieux Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Au Vieux Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.