We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location & excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 't Waterhuis

't Waterhuis
Vindictievelaan 35, Ostend 8400, Belgium
059 803273
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 242 restaurants in Ostend
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
262 helpful votes 262 helpful votes
“Good location & excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

The Waterhouse is worth visiting for its central location opposite the station, and because as Ostend’s oldest inn it has a great atmosphere. Also, you can get a large array of well-cooked dishes here all day, while many other restaurants in the area close or offer a limited service during the afternoon. I opted for the spaghetti carbonara, which came in a huge dish, excellent value at 11 euros, and was accompanied by mountains of grated cheese, parmesan and bread and butter as well. Service was attentive and the view was good, too. The bill including drink and coffee was 15 euros. I asked to pay by card, which seemed ok, but the waiter charged me 25 euros and gave me a 10 euro note back, because the minimum credit card charge is 25 euros!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    31
    36
    5
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Dont employ muppetts”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have been using this establishment for many years now,as its within 100 yards of our flat.
never had a problem with the place until this last visit. On arrival we sat down in the front extension part and waited to be served,and waited and waited. After 10 minutes i said....sod it....and we got up and left. One guy was serving drinks on his own and 2 others in the rear(1 x m 1 x f) were leaning against the bar inside having a nice little chat. They needed a kick up the backside or better still replacing. Shame as the place itself is fine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great look great atmosphere great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Great looking place with a buzz about it and great food. oor waitress was a bit sniffy but the overall experiance was excellent. we will be going back

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oostende
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I've visited this restaurant several times, and I'm always very pleased with the great food (I absolutely love the spaghetti carbonara!). Located next to the harbour, good service, nice scenery, average prices.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Relax by the harbour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We visited this restaurant for coffee on Boxing Day as it was one of only a few places open in Ostend. It is situated opposite the main train station and the harbour.
The atmosphere was really friendly and welcoming and the service was prompt, polite, and cheerful.
The coffee was served on a little tray with complimentary biscuits,-a nice touch.
Several people were also enjoying light meals and the food quality looked really good.
The menu was quite extensive and reasonably priced given the good location.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 't Waterhuis also viewed

Ostend, West Flanders Province
Ostend, West Flanders Province
 
Ostend, West Flanders Province
Ostend, West Flanders Province
 

Been to 't Waterhuis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 't Waterhuis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.