We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good points and bad points” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Melinda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Melinda to your Saves list
Hotel Melinda
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mercatorlaan 21, Ostend B-8400, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 47 Hotels in Ostend
Peacehaven, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good points and bad points”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed at the Melinda for 5 nights in April 2012, whilst visiting Belgian friends and it was they who recommended the Melinda. The accommodation can only be described as 'basic', even though we upgraded from a budget to a standard room it was still very small. The room and adjoining bathroom were clean, and pretty much kept clean during our stay, although the room was not hoovered once during our stay and there was a lot of dust on furniture. What was missing were the little touches that make a hotel room more welcoming, like proper bath towels not large hand towels, a box of tissues, tea/coffee making facilities (no room service either). They must be applauded for their contribution towards conservation with energy saving bulbs and recycled toilet paper, BUT the toilet paper was grey, very thin and very rough.....very cheap, which recycled paper doesn't have to be. All the bedding and the towels are white, the walls are brown/beige, a little bit of colour would have brightened the place up and bedside cabinets and a chest of drawers would have been a blessing! Indeed we have never stayed in a hotel where these were not provided as a matter of course. There was not one drawer in the room, no information pack, no pen, no stationery, which surprised us because the majority of the guests were not business people they were tourists and visitors for the Commonwealth War Graves etc., it just wasn't very welcoming. Staff were fine, attentive and helpful. Breakfast was adequate but I do think that if you have to serve streaky bacon it should be cooked properly, not be uncooked and cold, as it was every morning. On the plus side the mini pastries were very nice and fresh and the fresh fruit salad selection was delicious. We had a couple of evening meals, and whilst I understand it is a 'continental thing' to put salad (and mayonnaise) on every dish, it was kind of off putting to find it on roast beef with gravy! We had a wonderful time in Belgium with our friends and the Belgian people are very welcoming, would we go back, yes indeed we would but I am afraid we wouldn't return to the Melinda Hotel.

Room Tip: If you like to wake to a cuppa, then you must take your own travel kettle etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    55
    25
    4
    2
See reviews for
6
62
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed at hotel during August with the Leger Group. We have stayed at other hotels in Ostende on numerous occasions and this was our fifth time at the Melinda.

The hotel provides basic accommodation which is both clean and comfortable. The rooms are quite spacious too, though soap, shampoo etc. were not automatically replaced during our stay. However additional supplies were available from reception. We found all the staff very friendly and helpful.

We considered the food to be to a good standard with primarily continental breakfasts augmented with streaky bacon and scambled egg. The evening meals consisted of a three course "set menu" with a choice of other dishes that could be ordered in advance.

The location (opposite the sail training ship in the harbour) is very convenient even if it is a little further away from the town centre than some of the other hotels.

The area formerly used as a bar is now used as a restaurant. If you want a drink during the evenings, the options are to drink outside, sit in the very small lobby (only one three seater sofa) or wait for the restaurant to clear of diners when tables are made available for any drinkers - by which time most guests wanting a drink have gone elsewhere.

The one lift is very small and has a capacity of six persons but will not carry more than four before the "overload" warning alarm sounds. Things get rather hectic when a coach party arrives or departs.

At the end of the day much depends upon how much you pay and, on that basis, we were very happy. We will certainly return to the Melinda.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel with a view of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BROMSGROVE
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

This is a small hotel in a superb position right on the harbour with just a short walk into town. The rooms are clean and well equipped. The highlight of this hotel though are the staff. Nothing is too much trouble, they are friendly, polite and very hard working. The food is also very very good!!

Room Tip: Ask for air con!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

Great location close to marina - and city centre a short walk away.
Greeted warmly and efficiently. Room was bigger than expected and was clean and well equipped, meeting all our requirements. Balcony overlooking park at rear, so reasonably quiet room for a central location.
Breakfast was plentiful and varied and was continuously being replenished by a member of staff.
Would certainly recommend this hotel and use it again.

Room Tip: Room at back of hotel. Book parking space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

We recently spent 4 nights at this hotel as part of a Leger Tour - We booked it as it promised evening meal with 2 free drinks and english breakfast. There isn't any english breakfast except for limited choice of cereal and streaky bacon with scrambled egg - not everyones' taste!!!! The evening meal was atrocious, very basic cheap ingredients, reformed meat and fish - no choice of starter or sweet, like it or leave it. There was a limited choice for the main meal provided you gave enough notice. The free drinks weren't really worth having the beer was the cheapest and cost 35cents from the supermarket next door and the wine was horrible - the orange juice and lemonade were ok though. The accommodation was like a travel lodge - no tea making facilities, advise to take own travel kettle and water like we did. The tiny bathroom was clean but was obviously in need of updating - peach coloured sink and white toilet with patterned 70's tiles. It was quiet and the bed was comfortable so we slept well.
The tours were quite good and always ran on time but we felt that we would have liked longer at some of the destinations.
Ostend is not a very attractive place bit like Morecambe with ugly buildings - It was an experience though and on the whole we did enjoy seeing Ypres, the Menin Gate and the Tyne Cot cemetary.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

After reading the extremely negative review below we were pleasantly surprised by this lovely hotel. Our room was clean & fresh towels were supplied every day. The food was hot & plentiful. Staff were polite, kind & spoke good English. Filip at reception was charming. It is very well situated in a pleasant area of Ostend. The only quibble we had was there was no safety box nor hooks in shower room. The carpets were certainly not threadbare. We also travelled with Leger & no-one complained about anything to my knowledge. Go and see for yourselves. You will have a good holiday.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

Melinda is a lovely gotel with first class service and lovely big rooms. Bathroom in my twin room was spacious and fully equiped with hair dryer. Breakfast has great variety of choice, and short walk takes you into the centre of Ostend.

Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Melinda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Melinda

Address: Mercatorlaan 21, Ostend B-8400, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ostend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 47 Hotels in Ostend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Melinda 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Melinda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melinda Hotel Ostende

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Melinda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.