We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A moving Trip ...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New-Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added New-Astoria Hotel to your Saves list
New-Astoria Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Van Iseghemlaan 38a, Ostend 8400, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in Ostend
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A moving Trip ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We went to Ostend and stayed at the New Astoria with National Holidays on a Great War getaeway. What we payed for the trip and what we got was more than acceptable . It was moving seeing the true extent of WW1 on the Somme and Ypres and been at the Last Post at the Menin Gate . We had guides on these trips who could tell you stories about their families from the war which made it special . This is the 4th time we have stayed at the New Astoria . We had a large room as there was 3 of us and more than enough wardrobe space . The bathroom was rather small but was acceptable . The toilet lid came off , we reported it and was sorted by the time we got back . Food is basic but edible and if you want seconds , you just ask .When we were there it was a bank holiday and there was a regatta type event on .. Fresh food stalls , music , Navy things and boat trips out .This hotel is central to the town and prom . We hired bikes and rode for miles along the prom, an enjoyable day . This hotel is basic but serves us well . We have booked to go for New Year and hope it as enjoyable as previous years .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    57
    73
    40
    38
See reviews for
29
88
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Llanelli, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Started 4 15 am on 12May for 5 days were still in Bristol at 9 25amDid at least 3 tours of the city by this time .Consequence of this we lost the Ferry. Arrived at hotel by approximately 8pm.Shatererd.The meal was then served up.Greasy new potatoe fritres with 2 slices of a pork medallion you nearly could read through with a gravy and carrots that had been reheated until they were practically inedible.The sweet was 1940 style tinned peaches with spray cream as topping.These culinary delights were served all week with a soup that could be described as watery as well .You had chips or spud with one veg every day..I have had better meals with army cooks who had to work in extreme conditions and served tasty food that you could taste. Do not travel with Majestic or go to this hotel

Room Tip: Take your own cat ,you might not touch the walls,They are small but the bed was ok..Many people fell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haydock, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Just arrived back home from another great holiday at the New Astoria Hotel which i found very homely and friendly. The rooms although not very large are sufficient for sleeping in because we were out most days, the beds are very comfortable and spotlessly clean bedding. The towels in the bathroom are changed every day. The bar area is also very nice and welcoming and the bar staff are all very nice aswell. The hotel is in an ideal situation for the promenade and also the very large shopping area. This was my second stay at this hotel and i will probably be going again for the christmas markets. The food although basic is very nice and as others have stated you always get asked if you want second helpings of the soup and the meat course but i found having what was served to you was sufficient. Hope this review helps anyone looking for a reasonably priced hotel for a few days break.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights - tiny room opposite lift so a bit awkward as the door to the room opened outwards and if someone was coming out of the lift at the same time - or even walking along the corridor - it could be interesting! the room was small but clean and the bathroom was almost as big. A lot of hotels in Europe seem to like the shower in the middle which is not particularly convenient when there is a shower curtain - so easy to put the shower at the end and use a glass panel. We had continental breakfast - usual cereals,cold meats, juices,yoghurts and rolls/bread. Fresh fruit would have been good. As we were in a group there was no choice for dinner and whilst edible it was not great. We had fish one night which was burnt and very hard and desert tended to be tinned peaches and tinned whippy cream. No teas, coffees or water with the meal - we asked for water but it never came!

the location of the hotel is ideal - less than 2 minutes from the promenade and 10 minutes fromt he train station. Lots of lovely little bistros etc close by. All in all an OK hotel for a quick visit but tea/coffee making facility somewhere would have been great. Female staff were friendly and chatty but the male staff were pretty grumpy.

Room Tip: If you ask for one facing the street you might get a wee balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhondda s-wales
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

we have stayed at this friendly hotel for many years .. and looking forward to april going again..on a thomas of the rhondda coach holiday...with gareth .. the hotel is comfortable clean and has helpful welcoming staff.. our rooms have always had clean towels changed every day..found everything fine no complaints.The food is tasty and plentiful with seconds on offer....with a salad on offer to suit all..we have always found bar staff happy and obliging ..and entertainment enjoyable..the hotel is central for beach and shops..roll on april..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester Uk
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed at this hotel through a National Holidays Christmas trip to Belgium Markets. Arrived about 5pm in a gale force wind!! Was allocated a single room (having paid a single supplement) right next to lift shaft, could hear the clunk of the age old lift all hours of the night, asked if I could be moved but this was not possible. Went down for our evening meal sitting, basic food, served hot, but felt we were just like cattle being fed. Free bar in the evening, served by a friendly barman, who left his job the next day, free bar was a bit of a joke as was only on for an hour and nearly 100 people served by 1 barman..... count how many drinks in 1 hour??!!! Breakfast the next day was very basic, cereal which was in open bowls left out overnight, fruit bread and toast. Disgusted by the rude, obnoxious receptionist who walked into the breakfast bar and addressed us like small children, to say that somebody had gone behind the bar the night before and stolen the barmans tips, and that we would not be having a free bar that night, when asked if they had cameras on the bar, she answered yes, surely a check of the video footage would have shown the culprit instead of addressing us all as criminals?!! Our trip was sold as a Christmas Market trip, our first stop Gent had no market, it started the weekend after, Ostende had no market, when I made a comment to a friend in reception that it was disappointing that there were no markets and that was what we came for, the obnoxious rude receptionist practically spat venom and said Ostende wont have a market as its the tourist that cause trouble so they aren't doing one this year. How rude! Our ferry was cancelled on the way home and the hotel kindly allowed us to stay on in our room an extra night and told us our meal would be at 6pm, we left Bruge (the only Christmas market) early to travel back to hotel and get ready for our meal, only to be told 15 minutes before that we were now eating at 8pm as they had booked the new party in at 6pm to eat, this is disgraceful behaviour, we had missed out on seeing Bruge in the dark all lit up and Christmasy, and were now starving hungry.

Rooms, very basic and small, warm, bed, lumpy pillow, stained dirty carpet, small wardrobe, very dimly lit.

Bathroom, small square bathtub with very powerful shower, pink mouldy curtain, hot water, door didn't close. Torn towels that I would use at home to dry my dog. Very dimly lit.

The best thing about this hotel was the lovely Brazilian cleaner on our floor, and the location to the town and beach. Wouldn't choose to stay here again and certainly would not recommend. A few manners and lessons in customer care and management wouldn't go amiss with the receptionist, manager and one of the waitresses.

Room Tip: A tent on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

On arriving at the hotel, we were a bit disappointed with the state of the hotel. The carpets on the third floor was a soiled in places and the decor of the hotel wasn't up to much. Our room was short on space for our clothes. There was one wardrobe which all our clothes had to fit in. there were no other drawers in the room. The staff, however were brilliant. They were friendly and obliging. Our young waiter was such a nice chap, he deserves a mention.The food was very good and tasty, and each serving were given, a second helping was always offered. The hotel was well situated for the shops and walks on the promenade. Overall, as it is a 2 star hotel, it was worth the money. We actually really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 305. - Not enough room for clothes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to New-Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New-Astoria Hotel

Address: Van Iseghemlaan 38a, Ostend 8400, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ostend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in Ostend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — New-Astoria Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your New-Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Astoria Hotel
New Astoria Ostende

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New-Astoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.