We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Astor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Astor Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Astor Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hertstraat 15, Ostend 8400, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 47 Hotels in Ostend
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Basic but OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

National Holidays weekender. We arrived 10th Jan went straight in for meal. Rooms basic but ok. Food, well my wife was ill Saturday after first meal did not eat another evening meal in ok and wife was ok after.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    103
    78
    28
    21
See reviews for
44
120
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here over Christmas. We booked a 5 day trip with National Holidays.
Due to the weather conditions in the UK we didn't arrive at the hotel until 7pm. Upon arrival we went straight in for our evening meal. We were greeted in the restaurant by the waiters and hotel manager. There was no queuing at reception for keys as she came round to everone to issue them.
We had room 607 which was quiet and spacious. Our room was cleaned daily with fresh bed linen and towels each day. They don't provide tea and coffee facilities in the rooms so if you stay here you may want to take your own. It didn't bother us as hot drinks were available at the bar.
We found all the staff really friendly and we enjoyed the entertainment.
On Christmas day we had an amazing evening in the restaurant. We had a 5 course meal amd Santa even came round with a gift for everyone from the Hotel which was a nice touch. Following the meal we had a disco.
We enjoyed the food everyday, breakfast was a buffet each day and although advertised as a continental meal they also provided bacon, eggs and tomatoes.
I could not fault the hotel, it is well located less than a minutes walk to the beach or the shopping centre.
Our driver for the trip was Alison who was very knowledgeable of Belguim. I would have to say she is the best driver we have come across with National holidays. Fantastic trip.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Nice clean hotel, rooms are basic but comfortable.
Had a really good time, the staff were friendly and the food served on an evening was really good.
They serve a nice glass of wine, didn't care too much for the local beer (Primus) though too gassy for my liking but everyone is different and I'm sure a few people will probably say the complete opposite.
The New Year's Eve gala dinner was more than we expected. People were getting second helpings and the wine glasses were filled as soon as they were empty.
The only downside was finding somewhere to sit on a evening when the dining room was closed.

Exceptionally good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Had a great holiday. A fairly long journey but that was expected. Hotel was really nice and food
was very good. Rooms very nice and comfortable. We took our travel kettle so could have our
teas and coffees. Ostende is very nice, much bigger than we expected. Hotel in great position for everything. Lovely beach. Overall good for you National another great holiday at an unbelievable price.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights on a short Xmas Markets break, organised by National Holidays. The hotel is clean enough, clean towels every day, basic but edible food.
We haven't got any issues with the Hotel on the grounds that you get what you pay for!
It's a great base for exploring Brugge, Brussels and Oostende, the train station is just a short walk from the hotel, and as previously mentioned you are just 50 yards from the beach, not that we were bothered, it was 3 degrees!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in early december we were on a coach trip with five star travel, its not the best hotel although we were going to be sent to The Empire and the reviews were awful for that hotel so we complained to five star and after a lot of trouble we were moved to this one, The rest of our coach was sent to the Empire, so we sort of got the better deal, it was clean and the breakfast was ok but the hotel itself is really dated, The bathrooms really need updating, the room itself was clean but a bit dark but as I said we got the slightly better deal. I would never book with Five Star Travel again as their coach was very tatty and the toilet was filthy and no water to was your hands.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Located very near sea front with plenty of bars / eateries nearby.
Near the shopping centre and ideal for the Kustramm - connecting with Ostend rail station if you want to visit Ghent, Bruges etc.
Dining Room and Reception are very nice, and Staff very courteous.
Bed / Bathrooms were a bit tired.
Lounge areas were ok, but small and basic - so you didn't feel particularly attracted to a 'night in'.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Astor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Astor Hotel

Address: Hertstraat 15, Ostend 8400, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ostend
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 47 Hotels in Ostend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Astor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel 300 metres from the center of Oostende, 50 meters from the town’s sandy beach and one block from the casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Astor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Astor Ostende

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Astor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.