We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could Be Better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rino

Rino
Christinastraat 20, Ostend 8400 , Belgium
59809969
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #233 of 280 Restaurants in Ostend
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Hamburgers
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“Could Be Better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I was actually looking for another restaurant but was not able to find it so we walked in this one.The customer service, the atmosphere were all good. The food was so-so. We ordered fish and chips and rino burger. The fish was good but the burger was something I never seen before. It did not quite look like beef burger. It was thick, oval shaped and wasn't very appealing or tasty. The fries had a little aftertaste to them.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    7
    9
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ostend, Belgium
1 review
“Nice resto”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Verg Nice ribs and verg big burgers service was ok. We paid to chef a big beer.and a good atmosfere and not expensif attitude all

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“I will not repeat.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I was not happy with any kind of aspect of Rino.
The atmosphere it's a weird mix of restaurant/dinner under construction, ladders and stuff on the restaurant.
The meal itself was not good at all, jack daniels sauce was terrible, i order Belgian Cote a Los, and it was so bad that we couldn't finish it, on top of this, the price was quite high for what it was, something around 37€, with a little starter.
1 young lad from the staff was kind, but the rest were there like there was someone holding a gun against their head.
I do not recommend this place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Awful, awful meal”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Went with a group of friends and it's quite simply one of the worst meals I've ever eaten.

Loaded potato skins were loaded with cheese and "bacon" although I just seemed to get a load of gristle in every mouthful.

The calimari was green. Im not sure calimari should ever be green.

Nachos was a small bag of plain doritos with a little bowl of watery salsa.

"Gourmet" burgers looked like they had come straight from the frozen Birds-Eye range, and you needed a heavy-duty construction tool just to penetrate the bun!

The only good thing I can say is that their frozen oven chips were "cooked" to perfection, and they played that Robin Thicke song on request. Otherwise, a truly awful place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely terrible!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Honesty, save yourself the both. Arguably the worst meal I've ever had. One of our group had squid rings that looked like knackered tap washers. The loaded potato skins were loaded with bacon gristle, and the cheese in our burgers looked and tastes like a wet beer mat! Someone below mentioned the "amazing ribs". Well if you like your ribs dry, rubbery and with no sauce, then yes, you'll love it. The chips were ok, but then it's pretty difficult to mess up chips isn't it?!

Couldn't get out of their quick enough!

Do yourself a favour and go to the bar opposite (Koekok?) and get yourself a rotisserie chicken instead. Or McDonalds!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rino also viewed

Ostend, West Flanders Province
Ostend, West Flanders Province
 
Ostend, West Flanders Province
Ostend, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Rino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.