We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay here, would definitely go back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Europe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Europe to your Saves list
Hotel Europe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kapucijnenstraat 52, Ostend 8400, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 47 Hotels in Ostend
Mons, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Loved our stay here, would definitely go back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

We stayed here for two nights in August. It's an ideal location! Just off of the boardwalk and a short walk into the center of town. Whatever you're looking for: bars, restaurants, arcade, casino, marina, --everything was in walking distance. There was even a beautiful park with a play ground and putt-putt golf course for the kids about a 10-15 minute walk away. The hotel staff was nice, but be warned, the front desk has "hours". It's not a 24-hour service. Also, parking was a bit of an issue. You have to reserve parking with them when you book your room, or you are on your own. We ended up in a carpark a few blocks away and for the two days it cost us 45€. The pool was nice but a little small, and there were vending machines in the lobby. We were pleased that they had news and a movie channel in the room that was in English with Flemish subtitles. Overall, we had a good stay. We were rarely in the room though. Mostly we were out and about in town.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    43
    37
    12
    17
See reviews for
26
69
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

We stayed at this hotel as our usual one (a three star) was fully booked for the dates we wanted, and we thought that being advertised as "four star" it would be a satisfactory alternative. It wan't!!!
If this had been our first visit to Ostend, it would also have bveen the last!! We were sentenced to ten days in what can only be described as a total pig sty - in fact I wouldn't even house a sow in the room we had. It reeked of stale cigarette smoke, the decor was grubby (and that's flattering it) chairs with holey, stained covers. There was no heating at all, even on an evening when things can cool down somewhat, no heater in the bathroom, which meant that towels couldn't be dried for using again. The plughole in the bath was clogged with hair (yuk!!!!!) The manager was never available when we asked to see him/her. What a total, total dump!!!! Avoid!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

When we selected this hotel, we believed that, as it was advertised as being 4 star, it would be a very good choice. How wrong we were.

We were in a "standard" room, which should still be a very good, above-average standard in a four star hotel. What we actually got was a room smelling of stale cigarette smoke, with cracked plaster around the door, dingy decor (including chairs with stains on and holes from cigarette burns), a shower fixed to the wall approximately two feet above the very narrow bath, so taking a shower was impossible, a bath which took around an hour to empty owing to the fact that the plug hole was clogged up with hairs (how often is this actually checked and cleaned?)

On the bathroom wall was a notice about re-using the towels to save energy, all very well except there was no heating and so once a towel had been used it was very wet and had to be replaced with a clean one every day - not very environment friendly but essential in a hotel with no heating on!

The bar was the most poorly stocked of any hotel I have been to in Belgium (I have been to Belgium many times) and the furniture is a real danger - the floor in the bar is polished wood, which causes the chairs to slide alarmingly and in some instances almost crash into other guests as soon as you sat down.

There was no evening meal available unless you were part of a pre-booked group, this is contrary to the Channel 1 on the hotel's T Vs which states that the restaurant had a choice of four menus including one vegetarian!!

The hotel lobby has two lifts - one going to the badly-kept section we were unlucky enough to be staying in, and another to the section which is obviously much better cared for. If this was a genuine four star hotel ALL the rooms and corridors would be in good order and quite plush.

If you are considering a holiday in Oostende, don't make the same mistake as we did and think that, by booking into this "four star" hotel you will be getting something special - you might get something special, but it will be especially awful!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

The managers were very rude when anyone tried to talk to them. They made a couple of the people on the trip cry we have never been treated so badley at a hotel before. The rooms were ok but not the standard we would expect form a four star hotel.
The food was very bad and we ended up eating out on a few of the nights because it was so bad. The restaurants in the area were very nice which just proved that there was no reason for the food in the hotel to be like it was.
On a positive note ostend is a very nice place and worth visiting but stay in a different hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2009

My Husband and I have spent many happy holidays in this Hotel & I wish to thank the staff for all their friendliness & kindness over the years.
My Husband passed away last year so I will miss this Hotel - but maybe I will return at a later time

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2009

My partner and I stayed at the Hotel Europe just before christmas. The hotel was a bit tricky to find at first. But once we had our bearings it was in a very good location, close to town centre, train station, pubs, restaurants, casino and the beach (although it was too cold to go on the beach).
The staff at the hotel werev very welcoming and friendly and always happy to help.
The breakfast was nice.
The hotel did have a gym and a pool but i did not go to them. The room was very clean and spacious.
One problem was there was no tea and coffee provided in the rooms, and there was no facility to hire an iron.
Appart from that I was very happy with my stay here.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2008

Shower did not work, electrical sockets not European standard size, some room lights not working, total lack of service - receptionist did not know how to call a taxi (or much else except demanding payment in cash the night before) and then went home 30 minutes early in the morning leaving no one on duty. Hotel is supposed to have a four star rating - completely wrongly classified. Very poor - avoid this hotel!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europe

Address: Kapucijnenstraat 52, Ostend 8400, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ostend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ostend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Europe 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europe Hotel Ostende

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Europe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.