We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely accomodating, super service & rooms with a view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thermae Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Thermae Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Thermae Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Koningin Astridlaan 7, Ostend 8400, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 47 Hotels in Ostend
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Absolutely accomodating, super service & rooms with a view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2010

The Thermae Palace is a grand old hotel right on the beach in a prime position in welcoming Ostend.
You can enter the hotel through one of two entrances, both entrances via the hotels private car parks (10 EUR per day).
This huge 160 room hotel is styled in art deco with polished brass, marble, dark wood furniture and caters for both leisure and business guests.
On this visit, we were caught in unseasonal blizzard conditions and feared being stranded in the city.
The hotel staff responded effortlessley by confirming onward availability if we needed it - you just can't get better reassurance than that during potential travel challenges.
The breakfast room and restaurant both serve high quality food. Our evening meal included a set option with champagne for 40 EUR and drinks were quickly and professionally served.
The Thermae is not a budget hotel. You can however find deals for around 100 EUR per night if you shop around. However, some popular 3 star hotels are not far behind in price, making the Thermae a good choice for added outright style.
Some reviewers have made comments about the rooms and decor across the building. I personally feel that the rooms are well appointed and no one can argue about the stunning marble bathrooms and super soft beds.
If I were to be very picky I would replace the 'Kimberley Clark' tissues in the bathroom for something closer to Andrex, add in room refreshment facilities, drop the car park charges and pay attention to the exterior woodwork. However, this stunning building is right on the beach and must command substantial maintenance.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel time after time for it's elegance, style and location.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    95
    92
    41
    33
See reviews for
69
147
14
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mombasa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

As a seasoned traveller I have never before encountered more unhelpful and unfriendly Front Office staff. Having travelled some 8.000 KM and having selected the hotel for it's seaview rooms I did ask for a change from the assigned small carpark view room which was met by total disrespect. The receptionis was obviously too busy dealing with one of their F&B staff keeping a paying customer waiting without a word of apology.
When I wanted to raise the issue on departure with the FO Manager I was met by the same could not care less attitude which after having had my self service breakfast with terrible tasting coffee and without a Good Morning greeting smile did not come as a surprise. I suggest some training in customer care . After all guests have to pay so that even miserable staff still can keep their jobs in this otherwise not very busy Grande Old Dame hotel.
Chris

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

The hotel looks very impressive from the outside and the rooms and lobby are equally large. The hotels towards the ocean have a very nice wiew over the North Sea.The luxury from ancient times is gone and what is left is a decent middle range hotel with nothing extra. Little tings as minbar and beach towels are missing and the hotel seems to have very little ambition. Breakfast is ok but nothing extra. The big upside to this hotel is the hotel bistro that is a purely fantastic restaurant with probably the best food and atmosphere yo could find in Oostende. Belgian cuisine at its best.

Oostende seems over all a bit dated and further east you find places much more alive like Blankenberge and Knocke, which are probably better choices for a summer holiday. In Oostende it is necessary to take advantage of the train to visit Bruges and Gent if you stay more than a couple of days.

A good choice for both food and Belgian beer is the Cafe Botelltje near the seafront in Oostende. About 400 brands of beer and a both good and cheap menu, makes this one of the best choices for an evening in Oostende.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

This used to be one of Belgiums nicest and most exclusive hotels, but in the days when I wasn't born yet...
I stayed there because I attended a conference in the hotel. We arrived late, but the staff was very friendly and gave us directions to different restaurants nearby, as the restaurant wasn't open anymore. ( at 11pm, so not the hotel to blame)
The room was very spatious, with seaview. Nice.
But... the hotel could use some redecorating: new carpets, painting, ...
I would have accepted the current status if it would have been rated as a 3* hotel , and for a third of the price. But now you pay way to much for what you get.
I would not exclude going back, because besides the terrible state of the interior, the hotel still has lots of benefits:
Location is super! Staff is really friendly and helpful.
They have a nice restaurant, called Paddock, with great choice and quality.
So after some painting and a new carpet, I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

This hotel was certainly the most well-known hotel on the Belgian coast. When travel was more challenging, and even today, the British would come on ferries across the channel to go to the beach. With the advent of easier travel, people now go further south to warmer beaches. Fabulous Oostende is no longer the classy spot for the in crowd. There has not been industrial development in the area, so there is not much of a business base.

Over the years, ill-conceived attempts to restore the hotel appear to have been insufficiently grand to really save it. Really restoring the hotel will probably cost $100K per room and perhaps significantly more. We didn't see enough guests to believe that such an investment would be sound financially. It still has all the old plumbing and perhaps electrical. Modern stuff like Wi-FI is wired onto the walls. The rooms have that old and worn out feel. The rooms are rather large for Europe, but they're not laid out in such a manner that you can take advantage of that space.

The Wi-Fi frequently fails, a serious flaw for the business traveler these days.

On the plus side is the location. It's right on the beach and you can get beach views, looking out at the gray skies over the North Sea near the English channel.

The breakfast is good (perhaps 3.5 stars out of 5) and the dining room has nice views. However, 20 Euros for breakfast (unless it's in your room price like mine) is way more than it is worth.

At a price of 130 Euros per night off season, perhaps we were paying too much, although locals thought that was a good deal. However, that's $200 per night, and Oostende isn't the sort of place where you should expect to pay more than $130 per night, even on the beach, when the hotel is as run down as it is. It's not just high European prices for everything - this hotel is priced too high for its rundown state.

The staff is nice, but it's not a hotel where you're going to need much from the staff.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2009

I am not quite sure who rated this hotel with 4 stars but i hope whoever it was is no longer inspecting hotels.

It is tired, unwelcoming and in desperate need of renovation. to add insult to injury the customer service is non-existent.

My husband attended a conference here recently and i decided to tag along for a mini break by the sea. We arrived and were greeted by a cold and drab twin room (despite booking a double) as we had booked for 4 nights this was no acceptable. we approached reception and before we had finished the sentence we were barked at that the hotel was full followed by a shrug of the shoulders.

The public areas look like they haven't been decorated since 1950. the rooms are clean and spacious but cold, basic and very unwelcoming. breakfast is one of the worst i have ever seen. TV in the rooms has awful reception and the wireless internet connection is almost non-existent.

I would steer well clear. i checked out after one night and moved to nearby Brugge. I am sure this hotel was very grand in its day but this is no longer the case. i would say this should be rated at less than a 3 star let alone a 4 star.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

This old beachfront hotel is charming. The rooms are large, clean and well maintained. We had a seaview room, well worth it, and the breakfast was included in the rate. The breakfast is good and the hotel's restaurants are well appointed and comfortable. The promenade is exactly as it appears in the photos, and we walked into the center of Ostend. However, there is a tram stop in front of the hotel should you wish to ride. The casino, miniature golf, the beach or shopping are less than ten minutes away.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thermae Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thermae Palace Hotel

Address: Koningin Astridlaan 7, Ostend 8400, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ostend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ostend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thermae Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel of Belle Epoque style, in seafront location, within walking distance of downtown area & Kursaalcasino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Thermae Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thermae Palace Ostende
Hotel Thermae Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thermae Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.