We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perhaps 20 years ago it was a palace...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Thermae Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Thermae Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Thermae Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Koningin Astridlaan 7, Ostend 8400, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 47 Hotels in Ostend
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Perhaps 20 years ago it was a palace...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

What can I say..a deluxe room with a direct view on the beach...the doors to the terrace do not close completely, and as they are from wood, sea salt has worn them out...you are not feeling secure in your room and with a nice wind, you find yourself on the beach inclusive all the noise. The bathroom where the paint of the brown painted white tiles is peeling of...conclusion I did not stay for the night and went sleeping comfortably in Bruges.
The welcome at reception is mechanic. This hotel is used as a congress hotel so the individual client is a bit neglected. A pity with such a good location and history.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    95
    92
    41
    33
See reviews for
69
147
14
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Went recently to the Thermae palace (made 4 stay's befor),have to say that reception is correct -fast accurate and friendly.
The Paddock brasserie was a big disappointment(was before a great bar-resto).
Quality of the food (typical Belgian eel speciality) was the worst i had (returned 75%) not that the fish was of poor quality but it was the preparation.
Rooms are acceptable but need refurbushing(particularly the bath room) and balcony.The hotel announce that it will go through a million Euro renovation but so far nothing to see of this.
Breakfast buffet is good however in the past the choice was better.
Learned that new hotel managemant is installed and that new staff is hired.Have to say that the new manager is always present wherever you go in the hotel you can see him inspecting the location.I am convinced he will change the step down into a new erra.

Room Tip: the location is unbeatable but avoid the brasserie(at the moment)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

First impressions of the hotel were good, with ample parking and a very impressive reception. The rooms were of average size, with the normal amenities, but of the four we had during our stay the quality differed a lot.
The bathroom area was very impressive, with a huge walk-in shower, separate toilet area, and massive basin section. The size of the sleeping area was very generous, but the décor and general cleanliness could have been a little better. My colleague had radiator problems, along with curtains that would not close and carpets that could have done with a wash every now and then.
My room was fine, as I then checked all the areas that my colleagues had problems with, and all was OK in my world.

The sea view was fantastic, and waking up with the curtains open to the sun rising was stunning.

The food was adequate, and breakfast covered all European counties pretty well.

No problem staying here again.

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diest, Belgium
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The Hotel was good. The rooms (and furniture) are in need of renovation but the room was clean and service was good. Location is great but the rooms are pricey.

Breakfast was very good, all things fresh and many things to choose from. Many rooms have (supposed to) sea view but ours did not, too bad.

Room Tip: Try to get sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

In general positive as perfect location on the beach and professional

GOOD : location, breakfast, parking (outside)

To improve : This is a old classic hotel that has been renewed but they still need finalise the details. Our room was a suite but the amount of furnitures was the same as in a normal room leaving unwelcome empty spaces and the impression part of the furniture is missing.
Bathroom could be improved
Minibar should be filled
It missed the "full accomodation" it claims as there was nothing special

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

A grand hotel, now slightly dilapidated, which suits me fine but won't appeal to people who like their rooms all new and shiny. It was overpriced, but after checking prices elsewhere seemed par for the course for Ostend in July, in other words high season. Fixtures and fittings were a bit shabby, but I have no problem with that and found them clean, and the bathroom was fine. I didn't get the sea view I requested, but since I booked at the last minute I couldn't complain - my room looked out over the car park at the back, but again, that was fine.

Sound insulation between rooms didn't seem too good - I was woken in the morning by the alarm on my neighbour's iPhone going off, and I could hear conversations in the rooms on either side (albeit not the actual words) though it didn't sound as though voices were raised; in the event I was very fortunate as neighbours on both sides didn't make much noise, but it might be a problem with rowdier guests.

Service was OK - everyone was polite, but some staff were more amiable than others. I was disappointed with the selection of beer in the bar - it seemed to be Stella or nothing, which is a bit lame considering this is Belgium. The breakfast (included in the price of my room) was excellent - I am lactose intolerant, but still found plenty of things I was able to eat.

The hotel's big selling-point for me, however, was that it was used as a location in my favourite Belgian vampire movie, Daughters of Darkness (1971), starring French actress Delphine Seyrig. The colonnade is still totally recognisable from the film, as was part of the dining-room. This made it a real thrill for me to stay here, and I would be happy to come back here for the same reason.

Room Tip: A room with a sea view if you get one, obviously.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Our company was organizing a business event in this hotel. The hotel is really perfect location but falling apart. My room was corner suit with bubble bath and view of the see, so would be really nice except it was completely worn out. Not only the furniture was old, but there were big stains on the carpet, cracks in the bath, cables sticking from the wall. I was also not happy with the water bed, hardly got some sleep on it. The breakfast was ok but food not refilled quickly enough for so many people, had too queue for everything. The food they were serving during our dinner event though was excellent and was nice to chill out on the beach just outside the dance hall.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thermae Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thermae Palace Hotel

Address: Koningin Astridlaan 7, Ostend 8400, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ostend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ostend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thermae Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel of Belle Epoque style, in seafront location, within walking distance of downtown area & Kursaalcasino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Thermae Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thermae Palace Ostende
Hotel Thermae Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thermae Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.