We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice restaurant with lovely interior” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De Mosselbeurs

De Mosselbeurs
Dwarsstraat 10, Ostend 8400, Belgium (Formerly Restaurant De Mosselbeurs)
059807310
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 262 Restaurants in Ostend
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Leuven, Belgium
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant with lovely interior”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Based on the Tripadvisor reviews I ended up having diner in De Mosselbeurs. I didn't go for the obvious choice: the mussels, but decided to go for one of the suggestions: turbot fillet with arugula and lemon puree. The fish was fresh and the combination with the arugula and lemon puree was absolutely fabulous. Loved the dried tomatoes and capers. Service was very friendly. And I loved the atmosphere of the place with beautiful black and white tiles and a spiraling stair case in the middle of the room. For desert I enjoyed me some crème brûlée with orange and lemon zest which was delicious. In total my meal costed 42 euro, which is a little bit on the pricey side, I guess.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanenKevin, Owner at De Mosselbeurs, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Google Translation
Bedankt Carolien voor de leuke review en de foto's!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    31
    10
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ostend, Belgium
1 review
“More than just a diner !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Time after time, diner after diner, they always serve us excellent tasting food, but more important are all the extra touches related to personal care and attention that make this such a excellent place to come! Nothing is too much trouble for the staff, even when you come in group.
It's always good to be back !

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanenKevin, Owner at De Mosselbeurs, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thanks Matthiew! We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent Mossel!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Fantastic mussel or mossel in the town! It was so delicious, fresh and tasty! We had ordered 3 pots of different mossel ... the best is pot is the typical mossel cooked with white wine and garlic ... super yummy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanenKevin, Owner at De Mosselbeurs, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you so much..!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keul
1 review
“More than just an excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Since many years now De Mosselbeurs is our favourite place to enjoy excellent "soul"food, unforgettable and laid-back moments. Distance we drive many times during the year:
345km from Cologne to Oostende. But every km and every minute we have to wait for another evening at this beautiful place is worth it.
Thank you De Mosselbeurs!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanenKevin, Owner at De Mosselbeurs, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you sooo much for these incredible sweet words!
See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“So much more than "moules frites"...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Delicious, perfectly cooked mussels and frites. Exquisite chocolate fondant (moelleux) and lavender creme brulee to follow. Really good house white. Prompt, friendly service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Mosselbeurs also viewed

Ostend, West Flanders Province
Ostend, West Flanders Province
 
Ostend, West Flanders Province
Ostend, West Flanders Province
 

Been to De Mosselbeurs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Mosselbeurs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.