We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Albert II

Save Saved
You added Hotel Albert II to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Albert II
2.5 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   Vlaanderenstraat 42, Ostend 8400 , Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Specialty lodging in Ostend
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed two nights on a low-budget coach holiday (Gold Crest, also recommended) and didn't have high expectations for the hotel, but were very pleasantly surprised.
The room was clean, comfortable and very well designed (though slightly more leg room in the bathroom would have been welcome). The bed was very comfortable. All this only two rooms along the corridor from Mandy's 118 (see previous post).
The lift was fine, as were the stairs.
Breakfast was excellent: continental promised and so bacon and scrambled eggs an unexpected bonus (my personal preference is for bacon cooked until it won't bend, but perhaps that's just me).
Make sure you visit the nearby Ensor Museum.

Room Tip: Ask for 116, unless you are over 6' tall (see note on bathroom).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    28
    25
    17
    21
See reviews for
16
40
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stoke on Trent
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

For staying in the heart of Ostend this hotel is ideal and right in the middle of the shops, bars and restaurants. However, the hotel is very cheap and cheerful. Clean, but basic.

We also stayed as a group with the GoldCrest company and the hotel was exactly as I'd expected, no frills. However, you are paying 'no frills' prices and so therefore does as needed.

Friends had very nice rooms, we ended up with a tiny box room (luck of the draw) but it was clean, had plenty of hot water and comfy beds.
We were not in it for too long - just sleeping!

The breakfast was OK. Pastries and meats/cheeses and tinned fruit with concentrate orange juice. Lots of bread, tea and coffee. Toaster worked well and the scrambled egg was very tasty. They don't have enough staff, so the receptionist is the waiter and cook I expect, and seemed not to really cope at peak times.

All in all for this type of trip it just fine. If you want something nicer, then choose something more expensive.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Albert 11 with coach tour company Goldcrest a total of 18 people on a half board basis.(for 3 nights)
Arrived at hotel which is above shops so a lift is needed ,however lift only takes 4 persons without luggage
We therefore walked up 4 flights of stairs and sent luggage up in the lift (not recommended for the old or disabled)
We were then given our room key's by a person in reception who doubled up as a barman/waiter etc
Our room no 105 looked clean however the view through the window was unbelievable a solid brick wall,nesting and roosting pigeons window ledge and surrounding area covered in droppings so unable to open window (good job it was autumnal)as no air conditioning)
We unpacked and went down for dinner which was a set meal each night
Many in our party found the food inedible and by the 3rd night only 4 people( inc ourselves) attended for the evening meal
Breakfast was passable and was of the usual continental type, boiled and scrambled eggs , bacon was available as was some cereals , toast, orange juice and coffee on a self service basis ( avoid the cornflakes as these are soggy even before the milk is added)
We were informed that they would be ceasing doing evening meals from next year as most clients chose the bed and breakfast option (i wonder why)
On Saturday the lift broke altogether and was not fixed until Monday morning just in time for us to check out and send our luggage down
Hotel also advertises an all you can eat sushi buffet ,but this appears to have been discontinued though the neon sign has not been removed
Bar was advertised as open to 2400 hrs but shut at 11 due to lack of patrons
We were given 9 free tokens each for free drinks but we only used 3 each
Basil Faulty would feel at home here
I was also bitten twice on my leg but cannot be sure by what as i wore trousers during the day so it was either mosquito's or bed bugs but cannot be sure
Though this hotel is cheap would not recommend it to my worst enemy be warned

Room Tip: avoid room 105 as it looks out onto a brick wall full of nesting pigeons everywhere covered with pig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Solo travellers beware you may be offered room 118, worst room I've ever seen in a hotel! I rejected it. Food pretty bad - some sort of onion soup, very salty, followed by chicken curry. After that I ate out!! Drilling and banging began at 8.30am but I was out on coach trips. It would have been impossible to have a lie-in. On the positive side the room was clean and the bed comfortable. Hotel not worth the single supplement. Breakfast just about adequate, always the same.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Booked two nights here, staying with a group of friends for a BBQ contest in Oostende, and there was not much else available. Fair is fair, it is a 2-star hotel, so I did not check in with high expectations. The good news: The room was pretty clean and the breakfast OK for a 2-star.
Hotel is located in one of the main shopping streets of Oostende, alas a very dirty street with lots of rubbish on the floor. Parking in the neighborhood is really expensive! About the average airport parking price and that for an unprotected parking lot!
Check in took ages. Alley was full of dirty laundry and other things that did not belong there, (and blocked the fire escape!). Room started falling apart. Doorknobs missing, toilet seat loose, squeaky floor, squeaky bed, and a horrible view on some drain pipes and repaired wall. Despite the note that towels would be changed when left in the shower, they were just hung out to dry.
What used to be the fitness room is now a place to store old rubbish, cupboards, mattress etc , which can be seen from what is supposed to be the terrace as there are no blinds at the window. The terrace itself is a tiled piece of the rooftop. Missing all charm. Actually, I did not find there was much charm left in the whole of Oostende. A pity, as it used to be a really nice city.
Again, my expectations where not high, but for the price I paid, this was a real bad deal. At 50% of the cost price I would have given it an average rating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, Limburg, Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Good hotel! Not awesome, but the price is cheap, so what can you expect? Clean room and really good bed! Also breakfast was above expectation, with a lot of choice!
The location is also great, in the centre, just 100m from the beach!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimstad, Norway
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We payed 500 EUR for one week for a double room and we had low expectations but the rooms were very small, the beds were small and only 60cm wide. We had to stand in the door to use the toilet in the room. Breakfast was ok, location was perfect except that someone was playing load music outside the hotel early in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Albert II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albert II

Address: Vlaanderenstraat 42, Ostend 8400 , Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ostend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Specialty lodging in Ostend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Albert II 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience the authentic, traditional atmosphere of the Hotel Albert II and stay right in the centre of the wonderful seaside resort of Ostend. With its simple and elegant decor, this homely hotel boasts cosy, comfortable accommodation. Go for an early walk on the beach, 150 metres from the hotel, or wake up slowly with a good cup of coffee before exploring the neighbourhood. Right around the corner from the bustling main square and next to several shops, bars and restaurants, you will always have some form of entertainment close at hand. Stroll along the wonderful marina and watch the ships of various sizes come in. The emblematic St Peter and St Paul's church is also a sight not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Orbitz, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Albert II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Albert II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.