We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go Somewhere else!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De Stove

De Stove
Kleine Sint-Amandsstraat 4, Bruges 8000, Belgium
050-337835
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 519 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $50 - $61
Cuisines: French, Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
London
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Go Somewhere else!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We only say this because it is probable we won't get a table when we want one. This is probably one of the best small restaurants in the city. At the start of what is the Belgian hunting season we were able to enjoy rabbit and wild boar, plus fish and seafood. cCrtainly not cheap, but fresh, well cooked and plentiful.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    70
    19
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We were lucky. Although it was a rainy Monday evening and we hadn't booked, we went in just after opening and got the last available table. Many were turned away thereafter. All the dishes we tried were very good, standouts perhaps being the scallop risotto starter and a main course large piece of cod cooked to perfection. We shared a wonderful chocolate and orange tart for dessert. As has been said in other reviews the restaurant is run by a husband and wife team who do everything between them. We found the service to be pitched just about right. We were not rushed, but when you are savouring a meal why would you want to be? If we visit Bruges again we will not chance to luck; we'll book.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

A wonderful meal! Fresh, lovely flavours, great service and the best meal of our trip away. The set menu was fantastic. There was real artistry in all of the food. We recommend it highly. Thank you Gino and Erica.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had a wonderful meal at De Stove. We booked a week in advance (it was a Saturday evening) and it was good we did as it was full and several people were turned away. The food is stunning, it looks lovely and tastes even better. After hearing that it is one of the best in town for fish we both had seafood starters and main curse and weren't disappointed. Fresh, clean flavours and cooked to perfection. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“High quality eating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

A quiet, well-run restaurant not far from the main square. Good cooking, and portions not too small. Fairly expensive, but we did not feel cheated.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Stove also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to De Stove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Stove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.