We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Hotel with Excellent Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges to your Saves list
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsenhof 8, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Dukes' Palace)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book direct & Save 10%
Ranked #14 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
Teaneck,NJ
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Hotel with Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

spent three days there at the beginning of this month in the still cold and rainy April weather enjoying the lovely room and benefitting from the helpful advice of their excellent staff about local restaurants and things to do. Well worth the money,a treat!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    769
    276
    112
    33
    28
See reviews for
150
783
17
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
essex
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

Value for money not!
No free wifi either!
Breakfast costs a small fortune!€18+

well located however near impossible to drive to due to several mo entries and numerous rd wrks please study the map and work your way there do not expect your satnav to get you there!

Well located it is and you can walk anywhere around town although finding somewhere for breakfast without breaking the bank!

Fantastic town will have to go b&b next time around!

Loved tge town and a great many restaurants to eat at!

Dan

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

I stayed with my wife in this great hotel over the Easter weekend. On arrival we received an upgrade to the beautiful Munthof Suite, which was a nice gesture. The suite was very spacious with a huge bathroom, seperate toilet and a cosy bedroom overlooking the courtyard. The only thing missing was a seperate seating/living area but since we were out for most of the time this was not a big problem. The bed was very, very comfortable and I really like being able to choose your own pillow preference.
The bathroom was fine, I only don't understand why the tub was so small (impossible to have a romantic bath for two) considering the sheer size of the room itself. Also, why not install a proper rainshower if you have the room for it?

There were some more details that weren't up to the standard that you would expect from a five star hotel: some of the towels had obvious stains on them and had to be exchanged, the TV had problems (turning on and changing back to the hotel default channel by itself), the espressomachine did not work properly (and used coffeepads were not replaced), the tap in the toilet was not working when we arrived and there was no way to turn off the heating in the hallway (resulting in the airco fighting against the heating) Most things were resolved quickly and quietly by the hotel staff but still, for upwards from 400 euro a night (the Kempinski is by some distance the most expensive hotel in Bruges) I would expect a little more attention to detail.

Don't bother to pay 30 euro per person for the hotel breakfast, the quality is average at best (the scrambled eggs looked more like porridge) and there are loads of nice coffeeshops wihtin a short walk of the hotel. The continental breakfast we ordered on the second day was better value. The spa-area is small but modern en well-maintained, has all the usual facilities and a good selection of treatments.

All in all, a good hotel on a superb location, well staffed and maintained but just not effortless enough to warrant the highest rating.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

We were greeted by the extremely friendly and very efficient reception. Maarten and his 2 colleagues continued to be of very high value to us during our 5 days in Bruges.
The suite was lovely, the cleanliness impecable. It was however surprising that it took minutes for the hot water to arrive in the shower... The bar and reading room are very well laid out. Afternoon tea and drinks are served with great friendliness by William and Co., highly recommended as you play one of the hotels chess or backgammon games.
the breakfast waitresses are ever so sweet. Oddly enough this was particularly the case during everydays, as weekend came up and more staff came on, the service level for some reason dropped a bit. This can not take away the overall impression of a very delicious and well assorted breakfast, which was a great start of the day to us. Overall, this hotel is certainly very good, but has yet some improvements to make before being a "true" 5/star.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

My room had a view of the three towers which was just lovely. The reception we got upon checking in was just so warm and helpful (his name was Marteen) - he gave us a map of Brugges, was very helpful with our queries and was nicely apologetic about the street being fixed. The bed was most comfortable and i love the touch of allowing one to choose what pillow one wants to use. Definitely would stay in the same hotel when I return.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

I have been to a lot of hotels in my life. But this one tops all.
The friendliness of the staff, the huge breakfast, the very very very comfortable beds.. it all gave me a serious WOW feeling.
We received an upgrade from a superior suite to a deluxe suite.
The only downside in my opinion is the small pool and hammam / sauna area.
Oh and internet should be free, but well that counts for every hotel in my opinion.
If you want a romantic weekend in a charming location, this is what you need !
We'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killiney
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

We stayed in the Dukes Palace in January, all on a diet for an upcomming wedding. We notified the kitchen of our diet requieries. They just looked at us asif we were crazy. we asked for tree portions of green vegtables. Only one came. we asked again. they looked at us as if we came from a different planet. We requested some more it came at the end of the meal. This hotel has the looks of 5 star hotel but it is far from that. Don't go there for the next three months as the entrance to it is completely doug up for water and sewer works the entrance is on big mudpool. I can recomend the Grand Hotel Caselberg instead the deserve an additional star. verry friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges

Address: Prinsenhof 8, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Dukes' Palace)
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bruges
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#12 Family Hotel in Bruges
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dukes' Palace, former residence of the Burgundian aristocracy, is the perfect location in the heart of UNESCO World Heritage city of Bruges. The 110 rooms, of which 18 suites and 5 family rooms, are all unique and combine contemporary comfort with authentic elegance of the 15th century. The 3000 m² garden, the terrace, the bar and beautiful lounges are the ideal place to enjoy. You can relax in The Spa with sauna, hammam and gym. The hotel also features a spacious garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Escapio, Despegar.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Dukes Palace
Kempinski Hotel Bruges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.