We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Michelin is wrong” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dukes' Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dukes' Palace to your Saves list
Hotel Dukes' Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsenhof 8, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Dukes' Palace)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
Waterloo, Belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Michelin is wrong”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Michelin 2014 shows Dukes Palace as best hotel in Brugge. Its spectacular, it is nice, it is well situated, but it lacks real class. Our first room (in the chapel) had a repetitive noise as from an elevator, but there is no elevator, and the personal was unable to explain the source. After insisting we were moved to another room (upgrade to suite, thanks), but we found out that the heating did not work and we spent a cold night and morning. After reclamation we had to move to the third room, which turned out to be all right. We also found that there is not sufficient attention to detail.Next time we will go back to the smaller boutique hotels.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    641
    229
    102
    28
    27
See reviews for
129
651
15
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

I recently stayed 1night in this hotel. Definitely 5 star. The public rooms were beautiful. Big comfortable bed and a huge choice for breakfast. L'occitaine toiletries were a nice touch too. The reception staff were very friendly and I couldn't fault the place. First time in Belgium and very impressed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Wonderful hotel in the centre of bruges, but feels quiet and calm off one of the main streets surrounded by gardens.
Friendly and helpful staff throughout the hotel.
Lovely spa, although the pool seemed to be missing?!?!?
Bar was wonderful, great moijito!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Great location, helpful reception team and breakfast very good,but lack of attention to detail is noticeable.
For example no offer to take luggage to room meaning two pensioners having to carry heavy bags a long way to the garden room and no lift, failure to check bulbs working in room and then failing to replace when reception advised and housekeeping especially poor with failure to clear empties from room or to remove previous guests chocolate wrappers from the curtain folds as well as leaving dirty saucers on the desk.
It needs better management to make this a 5* hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caifornia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

This should be a very good hotel. However, during our visit it had significant problems. The room was not cleaned properly and we had an empty tissue box upon our check in. The turndown service came early and when we asked that they came back, it was a 50/50 proposition as to whether they actually would do so. The hot water in the share pulsed between hot and cold. Service at breakfast was very slow and the food in the buffet was not replaced when it ran out. We had a barking dog outside of our room. The dog clearly was there well before we visited, and yet the hotel acted surprised about the dog.

I expected much more given the price that we paid to stay here. I do not view this as a five star hotel given the issues that we had and have rated this hotel accordingly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

A two minute walk from the Markt, Hotel Dukes Palace is a grand sight on approach. We stayed in a superior room on the fifth floor, which was a decent size, with a stunning bathroom, good views and comfortable bed. The service throughout our stay was excellent, from the professional bar staff to the knowledgeable concierge. The breakfast was amazing; a huge selection of cooked and continental food, juices, pastries, chocolate and champagne! The duo massage from the lovely spa staff was so relaxing we wanted to book another. On return to Bruges we would definately stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Hotel Dukes Palace. We stayed in a deluxe junior suite on the 4th floor.

Reception was very busy when we arrived but within 5-10 mins we had checked in and we were in our room. The room itself was very large with a huge bed and a bathroom nearly as big as the bedroom ! There was, however, a very off-putting 'sewer' smell in the room throughout the duration of our stay. The bed was very comfy but for me the worst aspect was the pillows ! They were just too 'fat' which resulted in neck ache. I did ask for an alternative and I was given a horse hair pillow about the thickness of a wafer and very uncomfortable - a true 5* would have a choice of pillows - indeed we have stayed at 5* hotels where there is a pillow menu.
The bathrobes were of very good quality and the L'Occitane products were lovely.
We felt housekeeping was a bit hit and miss - we had champagne one evening in the room and the empty bottle, dirty glasses and melted ice was still in the room AFTER housekeeping had cleaned !
The breakfast was great - would I have paid 25 euros if it hadn't been in the room price - NO. Most of the hot food items were barely warm although there was plenty of choice. Coffee was very good , plenty of fresh juice and I made sure to start the day with a glass of bubbly !
It was lovely to sit out in the garden/terrace after a day walking around Bruges and we were pleasantly surprised at the drinks prices - they could have charged much more but 3-4 euros for a beer was very affordable.
I really felt the hotel could have promoted the newly renovated spa. It was just chance that we were being nosy and 'happened' upon it - lovely sauna, steam room & relaxation area. We both had a treatment and again it was good value for money.
Would I stay here again - maybe. A few things need to be improved but we did have a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dukes' Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dukes' Palace

Address: Prinsenhof 8, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Dukes' Palace)
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bruges
#7 Business Hotel in Bruges
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#15 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#16 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dukes' Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the former 15th-century Prinsenhof Palace and fromer home to the Dukes' of Burgundy, Kempinski Hotel Dukes' Palace is perfectly situated in the heart of the UNESCO World Heritage city Bruges. The palace was built in 1430 by Duke Philip the Good for his marriage to Isabella van Portugal. The hotel has 93 rooms including 22 suites of which 6 are heritage listed. All rooms offer elegant furnishing with modern conveniences including individually controlled air-conditioning, plasma TV and high-speed Wireless Internet Access. Restaurant 'Manuscript' is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner and offers a refined Belgian cuisine. Bar Atelier is the perfect place to enjoy a cocktail, chilled draft beer or a wide selection of international wines. The glass windows give you a beautiful view of the 3000 sqm garden. During the summer months, the terrace is the place to be in Bruges! The Spa features an indoor swimming pool sauna, steam bath and fitness center. Additionally, a wide range of facial treatments and massages is offered.The hotel is located in the heart of Bruges, just a few minutes from the bustling Market Square, Groeninge Museum and busy shopping streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Dukes' Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Dukes Palace
Kempinski Hotel Bruges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dukes' Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.