We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food in Brugge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Kaffee de Passage

Gran Kaffee de Passage
Dweerstraat 26, Bruges 8000, Belgium
050-34-02-32
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #97 of 570 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $37
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good food in Brugge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

well worth a visit and reasonable price We had house special ribs and lasagne good The place is dimly lit was hard to read the menu BVut well worth a visit

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    110
    22
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fab Ribs, no moules left!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My fella had been here before a few times (about 8 years ago) and wanted to come back. Although it seems to have changed slightly, the food was still fab. Unfortunately they didn't have any Moules during the week so we had the Carbonnade (Flemish Stew) and the Ribs with baked potatoes, both of which were excellent.
Not as large a selection of beers as fella remembered - but still a goodly amount. Also a good place to visit for a pre/post-dinner drink.
Very romantic and atmospheric place for dinner, reasonably prices and top points for friendly waiter David.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Found this hotel and restaurant by chance and we really enjoyed the friendly staff excellent food and very value 51 euros for dinner for 2 including drinks. so good we went back for my wife`s birthday . the best ribs we have had anywhere in the world

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good traditional food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We have just come back from having had dinner at the Gran Cafe. I had the chefs salad to start which was delicious and fresh. It did however come with a baked potato on top. It was enough for a main course! Mark had Flamishe which was light and tasty. Also quite a large portion. Both our main courses were not beautifully presented but were hearty and tasty. Beef in local beer and a fish stew. No wine list just a house red, white and ros and of course beer. Definitely a good place to eat. Informal, nice service and friendly.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Just what we were looking for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Warm, cosy, Flemish restauant. Hearty, reasonably priced food served by candlelight. The manager was very helpful and welcoming. I would go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gran Kaffee de Passage also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Gran Kaffee de Passage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Kaffee de Passage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.