We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice local fare, be sure to make reservations though!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Kaffee de Passage

Gran Kaffee de Passage
Dweerstraat 26, Bruges 8000, Belgium
050-34-02-32
Improve this listing
Ranked #98 of 520 restaurants in Bruges
Price range: $22 - $37
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Nice local fare, be sure to make reservations though!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We dined on a Thursday night based on reviews on tripadvisor. Reservations are necessary as the place fills up fast.

We had the suggested shrimp croquettes - delicious & highly recommended, Flemish stew - nice flavor, a bit soupy, with plenty to eat, & waterzooi w/chicken - a bit bland. Entrees are 15-20 euros.

Service is comparable to other Belgian restaurants. If you're looking for a reasonable dinner with more than enough food, I highly recommend this place & getting the Flemish stew.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    90
    70
    15
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good experience but it is a one time experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

Good food with a bad service,

The food is really good but with a bad service.

Its a place for young people

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Hearty and Delicious Belgian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

A very attractive, high-ceilinged restaurant with a good atmosphere. We both shared a starter, which was just as well because the beef flamande we ordered was a very generously sized portion, but was so good, that we both had to finish every last mouthful. Beautifully tender beef in a fabulous beer gravy, good chips and a varied and really fresh salad as an accompaniment. A great range of beers, and very acceptable house wines. Very friendly service. Well worth finding as slightly off the main tourist area, and frequented by locals as well as tourists.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very relaxing, good food, large portions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

This place is not pretentious or too fancy, but has a great atmosphere, with dark wood and candles. The portions are very generous; three of us shared two stews (a chicken and a Flemish beef stew). Both were delicious, but I especially recommend the Flemish beef stew. The beef was very tender, and the sauce was tasty.

The waiter was very helpful and suggested beers based on our taste preferences.

I tried a cherry beer and liked it a lot!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A Great Experience Four Night in a Row”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

We went to Passage one night to try the mussels and fries, and went back three more times. The atmosphere is very nice it's quiet and just a little dark(in a good way) with candles. The service was fantastic. Everyone in the restaurant was very involved, and their pride in their establishment was obvious. we were never rushed or uncomfortable, and you could always get a question answered ( its not quite obvious how to eat mussels). Also we weren't the only repeat customers we noticed at least three other groups who repeated business there. All in all we had four wonderful nights eight deliscious and interesting meals. Be sure to ask you're waiter for a typical Belgian dish. Thanks to the staff for their remarkable service and food! It made our trip to Belgium truly memorable.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gran Kaffee de Passage also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Gran Kaffee de Passage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Kaffee de Passage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.