We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De Bron

De Bron
Katelijnestraat 82, Bruges 8000, Belgium
050 334526
Improve this listing
Ranked #147 of 549 Restaurants in Bruges
Cuisines: Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

We went to bruges for 5 days and really struggled to find veggie food until one of the pubs in the main square told us of this restaurant.
Unfortunately kn the first day we got there at 1.30 and they'd run out of food as they only open for 2 hours a day at lunch. 12-2
We went back the following day and it was definitely worth the wait.
We had a soup starter which was hot and extremely tastey.
They have a set meal and you just choose your size plate. We both had medium plates. They were enough for us with a starter.
Food took a little while to arrive because they make it all fresh. The taste was absolutely amazing. So many flavours. I've been to a few veggie restaurants in the UK but this is my favourite.
Drinks were also fresh. My boyfriend had apple juice - which is real juice from apples (not from a carton) and I had carrot and apple juice mix!! Really lovely!
Only complaint - they don't do dinner!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    17
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“good value great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

service was a bit slow but considering it was almost closing time 1:50 it was ok. you choose from a small medium or big plate. food was excellent diverse and good value for your money .the croquettes were wonderfull
would definately go back

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A different meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

While the Lady friend visited Plopsa land with her youngest, I went to Bruges with her eldest daughter.
Ans as she is a committed vegetarian, I promised her a meal in a REAL vegetarian restaurant.
You have to ring the bell to get in and make a reservation.
The menu is the same for everybody, just different sizes of plates and portions.
I was not unhappy with the food ( dedicated carnivore I am) everything was fresh and crispy where it had to be but why were all the customers looking so utterly miserable?
They are Belgians, jolly people with the best beers in the world! ( and a quite palatable organic one available in the restaurant)
And the waitress looked like she was anorexic.
You can only pay cash, NO cards accepted.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A wonderful veggie restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Simply one of the most imaginative restaurants we've ever visited, and it was just down the road from our hotel! Excellent food, beautifully prepared at a good price, what more can you ask for?
I defy anyone to eat the large dish - medium was quite big enough.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoylake, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Lovely Vege cafe in good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I stayed in Bruges for two days recently and was very relieved to fine De Bron. My husband and I both enjoyed our meals and went back the second day because it was so good. We had a great selection of hot and cold foods on one plate, great taste and atmosphere, staff good we could not fault the place. Only problem was that it is not open at night.

Well Done De Bron

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Bron also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to De Bron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Bron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.