We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De Bron

De Bron
Katelijnestraat 82, Bruges 8000, Belgium
050 334526
Improve this listing
Ranked #144 of 549 Restaurants in Bruges
Cuisines: Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Reservations
Castle Cary, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Splendid”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

A really splendid meal, fresh, tasty and lovely presentation. Although there is only one choice you can choose to have small medium or large dish (I wish more places did this). We did wait some little time for our food but it was so worth it as clearly it was freshly cooked, not warmed or limp like some places. There was a good variety of vegetables which complemented each other in taste and consistency.
The staff were helpful and friendly.
We did notice that when we arrived at twelve it was packed but as time went on it was less crowded. Perhaps leaving it till later is a good idea.
Lovely, nourishing food at great value.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    17
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This really is the best veggie restaurant I have been to. The front door wasn't closed so we walked in and then into the restaurant room where it was busy but we found a table to share. We ordered one medium and one small size plate and waited while it was prepared. We had drinks whilst waiting and when the plates arrived their presentation was absolutely splendid. It was all so fresh, cauliflower, cooked cabbage, courgette, carrot, rice, pasta and lovely herbal mix. Also lettuce, cress, some tomato and little pieces of Feta cheese. All in all a great mixture and lovely surprise! The waitress was very pleasant and the value was superb.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Closed for August!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We found out about this Veggie restaurant before going to Bruges and made a special trip to it. We rang the bell like it says but nothing happened. Some locals who had done the same pointed out a sign in Flemish saying it was closed until the end of August. This seems odd in a very busy time...

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Vegan Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is truly the best Vegan/Veggie food you will get in Bruges. Can't understand previous comments. I just opened the door and walked in. Once inside you order your plate size and wait for the surprise.......and do they know how to put together an excellent plate of food. so many different items on one plate. The owner who is a lovely man said they don't get many English visitors. I think if they explained their menu in English in the window it might help. I will be back on my next visit to Bruges

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugeley
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A strange experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

You need to press the buzzer to get in the door. This foxed us for a good while! No menu as such just small, medium and large plates. To say there is no variation in the food, they took an inordinately long time to bring the food out. I think my experience was more about my tastes than the quality of the food. The food was fresh and very healthy, I am a vegetarian, but the food was just too vegetarian for me!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Bron also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to De Bron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Bron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.