We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great mussels” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Den Gouden Karpel

Den Gouden Karpel
Huidenvettersplein 4, Bruges 8000, Belgium
050 333494
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #158 of 549 Restaurants in Bruges
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great mussels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Ate here on a sunday evening with my friend on a "girls weekend away". A mixed crowd added to the atmosphere; reservations required busy times.Its not somewhere for an intimate couples dinner.Enjoyed an aperitif ,tuna carpaccio and mussels.The service and food were great but watch the portions as 1kg mussels is portion size for a main course.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    67
    10
    4
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, NC
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Best fish stew ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

My wife and I dined here on June 3 based on the recommendation of our hotel. We had an excellent meal. We started out with an appetizer of smoked salmon and eel, plus some shrimp croquettes. My wife had the fish stew Waterzooi which was simply outstanding; lots of seafood, potatoes and vegetables and the sauce was stellar with green herbs in season. I had the rouget special with white asparagus, also sublime. Not sure why so much variance on the reviews. The place was about half full. Service was very attentive and friendly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Were asked to leave the restaurant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My autistic daugther cannot have fish and this restaurant do not sell anything else, so we did take her meal to the restaurant... nevertheless she was about to start, the waitress toke fork&knife of my 4 years old daughter...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Average and expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Excellent service. The starters were fine - oysters and the local standard shrimp croquettes. Main courses of small soles were overcooked with too much butter and the frites were nothing special. Disappointing and expensive meal. We had been led to believe it was busy, but must have hit it on an off Friday as the restaurant was not full.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windlesham, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fish Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Wonderful! If you want great fish dishes then do go here, BUT you MUST book in advance. Place was full even in March.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Den Gouden Karpel also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Den Gouden Karpel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Den Gouden Karpel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.