We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“attractive restraurant, good indian food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bhavani Indian Restaurant

Bhavani Indian Restaurant
Simon Stevinplein 5, Bruges 8000, Belgium
050-339025
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #248 of 549 Restaurants in Bruges
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“attractive restraurant, good indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Very attentive service in architectural attractive interior, good wine list, set menu and a la cart available. good choice for vegetarian food (i had mixed veg which was very tasty) as well. outdoor seating available.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    49
    24
    20
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“We drove from Wales here just for a meal and then came home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We found this restaurant by chance a couple of years back and had the most amazing meal. So came back every 6 months.

We're regular European road-trippers and try to make Bruges our last two nights after a trip to Italy or Provence. For years we'd look for an excellent Belgian steak and chips with a glass or two of Duvel, but this was such an excellent find that, after about 3 visits, in December last year on a whim, got in the car, went for a curry in Bruges, stayed the night in the excellent Die Swaene and came home.

Ignore the moans about price. Nothing any good comes cheap.

550 miles there and back just for a meal. It's that good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Beautiful place, ralaxing atmosphere and very kind and delightful attention. Good indian food, two choices between vegetarian and non vegetarian dishes. To repeat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best meal in Bruges”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

This was our favorite dining experience in Bruges. We just happened to
find it while walking thru Bruges looking for a place to have lunch. We sat
at a window table and enjoyed watching the activity in the square across
the street and the horse and buggies go by. Wonderful atmosphere,
excellent service and the food was wonderful. Our waiter patiently
explained the menu selections to us and - ooo lala - he was very
handsome!! If you like Indian food, don't miss Bhavani!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Germany
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic - yet again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Another visit to the Bhavani in Bruges and we were wowed yet again. The food is of a high quality and tastes absolutely fantastic. The flavours are incredible and the dishes are really authentic Indian dishes. For the main course we had the chicken madras and a shank of lamb- both dishes as well as the starters tasted great. The rice and naan bread also tasted very good. The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable. There is a good selection of wines and drinks on the menu. It is not cheap, but worth every penny. Actually this is the first Indian restaurant we have dined in where we think the food is worth a Michelin star!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bhavani Indian Restaurant also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Bhavani Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bhavani Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.