We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lively, atmospheric restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 't Zwart Huis

't Zwart Huis
Kuipersstraat 23, Bruges 8000, Belgium
+32 50 69 11 40
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 520 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Restaurant with Jazz, blues & soul music,friendly service and good vibes and food. The kitchen is open from 11.30Am till 11.30 Pm. Live music every 2 weeks on Sundays. Welcome, Yannic
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lively, atmospheric restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Lively bar and restaurant above cinema. Great atmosphere, good food and beer. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    131
    21
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Really delightful meal and great ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We came across the Black House whilst in Bruges for a long weekend. For any film buffs, this restaurant/bar is seen in the film 'In Bruges' (which we are fans of, so thought we would give it a shot).
The food was fantastic; portions were a good size and served in good time with excellent service. I had a perfectly cooked steak with all the trimmings and my husband had a terrific pasta.
The wine and beer here are varied and cater of all tastes.
Staff at the Black House were very friendly and couldn't do more to help. It was clear they take pride in their place of work, keeping it clean and ensuring their customers want for nothing. The design and feel of the place is really atmospheric - they were playing some great blues music on our visit, and although we were there for lunch, I can hazard a guess that it's a romantic spot in the evening too.
Great place - do go!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistable
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tasty food, wonderful atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My boyfriend and I went to the "Black House" based on the recommendation of our hotel owners. We were greeted by very friendly staff who were in a jovial mood throughout. The music playing was enjoyable and the atmosphere felt very romantic and cosy.

The food was stunning. I had kangaroo with a port sauce which was a meaty dish with a very deep fruity sauce. Lovely. My boyfriend had the duck a l'orange which was equally well cooked and delicious with a fruitier, lighter sauce. Although both dishes were around €20, they were worth it.

A lovely meal and I will certainly be returning there on my next visit to this beautiful city.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fun, atmospheric and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had a really lovely night here, good food, great ambiance. The candles and jazz in the background make it a very cool place. I would highly recommend a visit even if it is just for a drink.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fun and buzzy with great food and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We loved this place and went twice during our four day stay - for a dinner and a lunch. It's such a fun buzzy atmosphere and the staff were charming. Food was great and even though I had the same thing on both occassions (don't fix it if it's not broken!), everything coming out of the kitchen looked fab. My husband's favourite restaurant of our trip. Would heartily recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 't Zwart Huis also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to 't Zwart Huis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 't Zwart Huis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.