We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 't Gulden Vlies

't Gulden Vlies
Mallebergplaats 17, Bruges 8000, Belgium
050 334709
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #114 of 549 Restaurants in Bruges
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Guildford
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We booked this restaurant due to the great feedback on tripadvisor - unfortunately they didn't have our booking when we turned up, but luckliy we got there early so there was a spare table. You need to book or get there early. It is very small, just 10 tables, but its part of its charm. The food was lovely, really well cooked and we were well looked after. It was really nice to have time to sit and enjoy the meal without being rushed. It was also really good value. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    54
    11
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Funky Decor -- Fabulous Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The maitre'd/bartender/waitress (she filled all three roles and I suspect was a co-owner as well) had the most engaging sense of humour while delivering service with admirable efficiency. The chef had what it takes -- classic Flemish dishes presented with a master's hand. The value for money -- particularly given that the restaurant is in the heart of Bruges -- was remarkable. Go there! Marvellous food. A welcoming atmosphere. Funky decor (a 1930's stove in the fireplace, a vintage victrola on the wall, etc.) Truly fantastically prepared food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Simple Belgian food, reasonable price for Bruges”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

As they all say, it's small, so get there at 7.00 or book. Nice multilingual waitress, basic Belgian food. The chocolate mousse was actually delicious. The Flemish stew and the fish gratinee pretty standard stuff but hearty and filling, and you'd probably pay more elsewhere for the same thing. It's a cute place, dark, quirky interior. We went back because it was reliable and I was starting to get annoyed with how expensive food was in Bruges.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Good simple food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We were walking past and thought that the restaurant looked appealing, a rather 1960s London bistro look, and having tried to get into L'Assiette Blanche round the corner, but strangely the door was locked, we went back there and were glad that we did. There was a friendly lady in charge of the floor, and I enjoyed a simple meal of pig's cheeks with mustard mash and leeks, while my wife had a sirloin steak, everything was extremely tasty and we enjoyed it, washed down with a bottle of Touraine Sauvignon. We finished with a delicious, light chocolate mousse, the bill was sensible and if we ever return to Bruges, we will go back there.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clawson, Michigan
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very small, so book a table!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This was just round the corner from our hotel and we just turned up one midweek evening. Luckily they had a table, but it is very small inside. The food was very good, local dishes nicely presented and good value.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 't Gulden Vlies also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to 't Gulden Vlies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 't Gulden Vlies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.