We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro De schilder

Bistro De schilder
Jan Van Eyck Plein 13, Bruges 8000, Belgium
+32 50 34 64 62
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 549 Restaurants in Bruges
Price range: $9 - $43
Cuisines: Belgian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Welcome The place in Bruges centre to eat good at an honest price
sunderland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Cosy restaurant on Jan van Eyck Plein, couple of minutes or so from main square.
Two main courses, two desserts, bottle of water and 4 beers came to around 53 Euros. Great value for a really nice meal.
Waiters lovely as well - none of the attitude that staff in certain other restaurants seemed to have. Recommended.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitrivh, Manager at Bistro De schilder, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear diveannie

Thank you very much for your review! We just try to do what you are writing the staff is very happy that you liked the style of service .
Thank you and hope to see you again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    98
    12
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good find on a one day visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We almost went past this place while looking for a beer and snack, as we saw another group turn away, but as they were many and we were just two, we decided to ask. Downstairs was full but the staff pointed to a narrow staircase, which we ascended to find one empty table, next to the window, overlooking the statue of Jan Van Eyck.

There was a gas fire made to look like a wood burning stove, and the view across the square to the attractive buildings opposite was just perfect.The stairs are very steep and narrow, and would be difficult to anyone less mobile.

I was recommended the local Zot beer, which was lovely, while my wife tried a Leffe blond. On ordering our second beers we were also bought a small bowl of assorted nuts.

We had planned to have a quick snack [croque monsieur], as we were going to eat again in around three hours before our trip back to England, but the snacks were so delicious, and accompanied by a wonderful salad, that we decided to have a dessert as well.

I had a superb waffle [completely different from those at home], while OH tried a cherry pie. Service was a bit slow, but we didn't really feel ignored at any time. We spent 2 hours in here, and were the only customers remaining upstairs, when we left, although downstairs was still full.

We cancelled our plans for the later meal, as we were full up, and just needed a snack on the way home. There was a small mix up when I came to pay, as they undercharged, but this was soon sorted. We had 2 beers, I coffee, 1 croque monsieur, and 1 dessert each, for under E50.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitrivh, Manager at Bistro De schilder, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Gorby321

Thank you very much for your big review , must be one of the longest we have seen this year ! Keep it coming, we are very happy to hear that you had a good time in our place , its true that on a one day visit most probably don't arrive here but you did and we are glad.

Friendly greetings from brugge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Slightly off the beaten path but definitely better than some of the tourist traps!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

seems like almost an arty type place , We booked during the day for dinner and were seated upstairs. We each had a starter and a main and to be honest a main was probably enough because portions are large. With some of the stews they give a pot with the extra stew. Desserts are nice and the atmosphere is relaxed and friendly. In terms of value this was a lot better them the places in the Markt area and significantly better quality. Can't fault it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitrivh, Manager at Bistro De schilder, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Blowers79

Thank you very much for your review! We are indeed in the artist area and old trade center located. and yes we don't allow people to leave with empty stomach.

Thank you very much for your visit and see you again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Huge portions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Wow this Restaurant was lovely! It's very cosy and the staff were very friendly! I had Mussels in a beer sauce for a main meal and I must say they were the best I have ever had!They were huge and cooked to perfection! My husband had the stew and his meal was also very ample!
My mouth is watering just thinking about it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitrivh, Manager at Bistro De schilder, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear suztayz

Thank you very much for your review! The chef enjoy reading this review and thanks you and your husband. You are more then welcome to come again !

Friendly greetings from Brugge !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee-on-the-Solent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We booked this bistro by e mail after a recommendation from a friend. We were not disappointed. It has a lovely calm atmosphere and the food was delicious. Being our very first meal in Bruges we chose the Flemish beef stew and the rabbit stew...both were wonderful and very filling. This bistro I would say is just off the main centre and well worth a visit. The staff were very courteous and helpful.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitrivh, Manager at Bistro De schilder, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Kerry I

Thank you very much for your review! We surely hope not to disappoint.
Thank you for your visit and thank your friend in our behalf for sending you.

Friendly greetings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro De schilder also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Bistro De schilder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro De schilder, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.