We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal in beautiful surroundings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Restaurant

Park Restaurant
Minderbroedersstraat 1, Bruges 8000, Belgium
+32 497 80 18 72
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 520 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $50 - $84
Cuisines: French, Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: A classy and relaxed restaurant in a classic 19th-century house, facing the beautiful Koningin Astrid Park. Old fashioned Belgian cuisine - light jazzy background music.
Conwy, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely meal in beautiful surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I dined here this evening. We had been here many years ago and enjoyed our meal so we decided to try it again. We were not disappointed. Every course was a delight. We both opted for the same starter the mushroom and spinach pie and the fillet steak. Both were delicious and cooked to perfection. I had the iced mousse and my husband the creme brulee which we enjoyed. At 45€ each incl the supplement we thought it was excellent value for money considering the quality of the food. We have eaten in many restaurants in the city and can see why this is rated no 1.The owner and staff were excellent,friendly,helpful and efficient. We sill certainly be returning here when next in Bruges.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
axel5123, Owner at Park Restaurant, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Ann W,

Thank you very much for your return visit to our restaurant.

I am always happy to receive customers who have visited before, it is a comforting sign for both.
I have forwarded your kind regards to my mother, who runs the bed and breakfast.

Whenever back in Bruges, do not hesitate to pop in !

Best regards

Axel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,911 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,594
    239
    58
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Grand setting, traditional fare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

We visited on a Sunday evening with the €40 menu and agree with the previous reviews about choice and supplements. There was some repetition in use of ingredients such as asparagus soup and then asparagus as the vegetable with the main course which was a shame given the limited menu choices.

Each dish was well cooked and tasty, large portions and quite rich given the number of courses.

The restaurant is beautiful and the service both formal and friendly at the same time.

We'd probably rate 3.5 if we could based on our evening.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
axel5123, Owner at Park Restaurant, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Tracy Shattock,

Thank you very much for your visit.

Please allow me to repeat what I recently explained about the supplements ( of 5 euro )

These supplements, are a reflection of the price of the raw product.
Foie gras is more expensive than mushroom for example.
Cod is twice the price of Salmon.

This supplements are indicated beforehand and are totally justified for the quality offered.

Contrary to what you might think, some of these products can not be fitted in a 4 course menu of 40 euro.

Consider this : some restaurants of the same category will charge up to 32 euro for ONE dish.
The 40 euro menu, with or without supplements, remains excellent value.

Furthermore, we offer an internet promotion of 74,90 euro, where everything is included.
Everything means : the 4 course menu, aperitif , wines, mineral water, coffee, AND, all supplements.

It is my duty as a manager to keep the great majority of customers happy , while running a restaurant that remains financially fit.
We have succeeded in this for the last 25 years and intend on keeping it that way.

Our menu price, our choices and our supplements ( if any ) are all clearly indicated on our website and at the door, BEFORE any one makes the decision to book.

Any person having an issue with our prices, choices or supplements can easily choose among 500 other restaurants in Bruges, to book a table.

Please accept my best regards

Axel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Stunning restaurant, gorgeous food but watch out for supplement prices.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

My husband booked us into this restaurant for an anniversary meal having read the reviews on trip advisor.
We had a fabulous night - it's a beautiful venue with great food and service.
The only downside is the supplement on some of the meal options - we both ended up ordering dishes with supplements on both starters and main courses which made it a lot pricier. Of 4 main courses, 2 had a 5e supplement. Surely if running a reduced menu, it should be created to fit the 40 euro price.
It did take the initial shine off but the food more than made up for it, as did the gorgeous surroundings.
We would still highly recommend this for a special occasion.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
axel5123, Owner at Park Restaurant, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Coventry Lisa,

Thank you very much for your fine review of our restaurant and food.

Let me just explain about these supplements ( of 5 euro ).

These supplements, are a reflection of the price of the raw product.
Foie gras is more expensive than mushroom for example.
Cod is twice the price of Salmon.

This supplements are indicated and totally justified.

Contrary to what you might think, these products can not be fitted in a 4 course menu of 40 euro.

Consider this : some restaurants of the same category will charge up to 32 euro for ONE dish.
The 40 euro menu, with or without supplements, remains excellent value.

Furthermore, we offer an internet promotion of 74,90 euro, in the which everything is included.
Everything means : the 4 course menu, aperitif , wines, mineral water, coffee, AND, all supplements.

Please accept my dearest regards

Axel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

This was a special occasion for my girlfriends 30th birthday. Having read the reviews I thought this would be the perfect venue to celebrate, we were not let down. We were made very welcome by Axel and his team and through chatting with them decided that the set menu deal with wine pairing would be our best option. The champagne and wine was free flowing and the food was of a very high standard for all four courses. At the end of the evening Axel came to our table and sang happy birthday which was a great end to the evening. Park restaurant serves high quality food and has a lovely atmosphere, if we return to Brugge (which I'm sure we will) we will be heading to Park for dinner.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Trusted Tripadvisor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Booked a table at this restaurant due to Tripadvisor and a friends recommendation.
It is a beautiful restaurant and the service is very good. I find the mark of an exceptional restaurant
is being special without being pretentious. The park I found to be a little prententious although borh meals (my wife and I) were very good. I had the steak and it was excellent. One negative was the cheese fritters to start, the were dreadful, avoid them!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Park Restaurant also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Park Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.