We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Restaurant

Park Restaurant
Minderbroedersstraat 1, Bruges 8000, Belgium
+32 497 80 18 72
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 520 restaurants in Bruges
Price range: $54 - $102
Cuisines: Belgian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Welcome to the Parkrestaurant,landmark for traditional Franco-Belgian Cuisine since 1989. We serve classics such as Cheesegratin with Scallops,cocktail of Northseashrimps Belgian Beeffilet in red wine sauce, Baby Dover Soles ,Grand Marnier Icecream parfait, Tarte Tatin, Creme brulee etc. Family owned and situated in a romantic 18th century mansion.During Weekends( and for parties of 4 persons and up ) we only serve the excellent value 4 course choice menu at 40.00 euro per person.All-inclusive menus available. A relaxed place for happy people.
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Yummy!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Axel, his friends and family welcomed us to their beautiful restaurant. The service was excellent and it was very obvious that the staff truly enjoy what they do. The food was Devine and the wine choice for the dishes served were spot on. The only criticism we could muster is the limited menu as my wife was fairly restricted in what she could eat. We knew about this though so went in prepared. Maybe we could suggest that for prior reservations there could be the option to pre-order meals.
We had a fantastic evening and would definitely recommend The Park.
What a brilliant evening!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,356 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    1,103
    190
    47
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“No matter the occasion, this place is great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Easy location, beautiful decor, top service (both manager and waiters) and of course, great food!

As soon as we arrived, we had a warm welcome and straight away they took us to the reserved table. The timing between meals is perfect, the portions were big and the food very tasty. Everybody there speaks very good english and even portuguese if you need help.

The price is fair for what you get, and don't get shy if you think that Park Restaurant is too formal. Of course you're not going there wearing sandals but neither must wear a suit.

Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

beautiful building but unpretentious restaurant, lovely food, the staff were delightful cant wait to go again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
“Best ending to the best day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Had the perfect day in Bruges, made in more special when my girlfriend and i got engaged. I booked the park restaurant in advance after reading some excellent reviews. Axel and his team did not disappoint. We decided to go for the set menu with the drinks package as well. Great decision, the food was excellent and it was matched perfectly by the drinks. We finished off the meal with some delicious whiskey and then went to play in the park outside! The evening was a perfect end to the perfect day. The atmosphere in the restaurant was lovely and the staff made the night even more special. Thanks guys!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Tasty food, big portions and friendly staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The Park is a really nice restaurant, a great place to go for a nice meal or a special occasion. The interior is grand so it immediately sets a high standard for the food which it fortunately stands up to.

The sweetbread was the real highlight, I asked the waiter and he told me it was a calf's thyroid and it was one of the tastiest pieces of meat I have eaten. There was also a rich and hearty fisherman's soup with garlic mayo and the obligatory cone of Belgian frites. The portions were big and the quality was high all the way through.

The service was also very pleasant, our waiter was friendly and we got the impression that he was being genuine. Even after we had paid he was chatting away to us and telling us places in Bruges that we should visit. He even offered me a free glass of wine at one point!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
axel5123, Owner at Park Restaurant, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Mr. James R,

Thank you very much for your glowing review of our restaurant.

The portions are not small, that is correct, thank you for pointing it out !

During weekends we only serve the excellent value , 4 course choice menu.
The other evenings, one can either go for the set menu or choose of the "A la Carte" menu.

The veal sweatbread is one of our signature dishes, highly appreciated by lovers of this kind of food.

Please accept my best regards ,

Axel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Park Restaurant also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Park Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.