We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant but not spectacular dinner in Bruges” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Restaurant

Park Restaurant
Minderbroedersstraat 1, Bruges 8000, Belgium
+32 497 80 18 72
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 520 restaurants in Bruges
Price range: $54 - $102
Cuisines: Belgian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Welcome to the Parkrestaurant,landmark for traditional Franco-Belgian Cuisine since 1989. We serve classics such as Cheesegratin with Scallops,cocktail of Northseashrimps Belgian Beeffilet in red wine sauce, Baby Dover Soles ,Grand Marnier Icecream parfait, Tarte Tatin, Creme brulee etc. Family owned and situated in a romantic 18th century mansion.During Weekends( and for parties of 4 persons and up ) we only serve the excellent value 4 course choice menu at 40.00 euro per person.All-inclusive menus available. A relaxed place for happy people.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A pleasant but not spectacular dinner in Bruges”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

A delightful setting in a beautifully restored Bruges house. The service was excellent and whilst the food very good, it lacked that 'little extra' might expect from such a restaurant. None the less, it was sensibly priced for what it was. We enjoyed an Alsatian Pinot Gris but the wine list was very limited and rather unimaginative.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,358 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    1,104
    191
    47
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Nice dinner at Park, just a few suggestions...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We enjoyed our dinner at the Park. Because we dined on the weekend we were required to order off of the set menu. The selections we chose were tasty and of good quality. The restaurant has a nice atmosphere and the service was good as well. There are 2 reasons why we do not give it a 5 - first the whole issue of not taking credit cards on the weekends. I am not sure the reason why, I understand they do take them during the week. When we travel we feel more comfortable using credit cards as much as we can vs. cash. It is a personal preference. My suggestion to the restaurant would be that if they do not wish to take credit cards on the weekends, just don't accept them at all. That way you can avoid customers thinking that you don't take credit cards during your busiest time so that you can save on the processing fees. Whatever the reason, it just makes it simpler to say it is cash only all the time. Second, we ordered the wine pairing with our meal. The selections were nice, complemented each course, and our glasses were refilled when asked. Our issue was that when we received dessert we wanted a little more wine and were told that once the dessert plates are on the table the wine service stops (but they did fill our glass anyways which we appreciated). We just found the comment a bit tacky for a restaurant of this caliber. As I said earlier, we did enjoy our meal and would recommend the restaurant to others. These were just our own personal observations.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A delightful evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

On the advice of Tripadvisor four of us dined at The Park and were extremely impressed with the service, the food and the ambiance of the place. We'd spent the day in a hot city, doing our best to avoid being run over by cyclists, horse-drawn carriages and motorists, and so found The Park extremely stress-free. We were ushered into The Park's garden and enjoyed a chilled glass of wine before dinner. The dining rooms are stylish and intimate, but with well chosen background music which doesn't interfere with conversation. The place is renowned for its fish, which our friend does not eat, however he said the mushroom starter followed by a succulent steak were delicious. The cod and sole were excellent too, as is to be expected. Puddings were all A1. And all for €40!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Bruges at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

For our 10th wedding anniversary we chose the best restaurant in Bruges. very Relaxed atmosphere with attentive and humourous staff with an excellent menu that we both thoroughly enjoyed. The set menu was well balanced and left us feeling that we had a sufficiency without wishing for more. Foolishly we declined the additional wine option, only to find that their cellar was very well kept and worth sampling. Best beef I have ever eaten.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We made reservations for Park restaurant based upon tripadvisor ratings. We went on a Sunday night. FYI, the restaurant does not take credit cards on Friday and Saturday evenings so it is cash only on those days of the week. They do take credit cards on Sunday through Friday. The menu was a set price of 40 Euro for 4 courses which is a great deal for the food we received. We opted for the $25/person beverage plan which gave us a glass of champagne to start, and then 2 glasses each of 2 different wines with our meal. They were selected based upon our meal choices. We usually order a bottle of wine with dinner at about the same price so this was a good choice for us.
We both ordered the North sea shrimp which arrived in a glass on a bed of lettuce with tomato wedges and hard boiled egg wedges. Mayo and tarter sauce were provided. Northsea shrimps are very small like baby shrimp and we were happy to try local seafood.
The soup course is preselected. We were given a tomato/carrot cream soup.
For mains, I chose the cod and my son had the beef fillet. Both of which were a 5 Euro supplement per course. My son's steak was cooked closer to rare than medium rare as asked for, but my son actually preferred it that way and was happy with his entree. (Hard to get steak cooked rare in the States, even if you ask) The cod was cooked well, but was supposed to come with fresh spinach. Perhaps they ran out in the kitchen, because I got cod with white wine sauce and 2 green stems which were definitely not spinach. I was served a small rammekin of mashed potatoes on the side which wasn't mentioned on the menu. For medical reasons, I eat low carb so I was really hoping for spinach and not potatoes. However, I gave the potatoes to my son and he ate them with his beef entree.
For dessert I chose the cheese selection and my son the chocolate mousse. Both were very good.
The service was on point. We were checked on regularly and wine glasses were never empty. We were given enough time to eat each course before being presented with the next and we never felt rushed.
For the price, the food and service was very good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Park Restaurant also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Park Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.