We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool, quirky,welcomming and chic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Walwyck Hotel Brugge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Walwyck Hotel Brugge to your Saves list
Walwyck Hotel Brugge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leeuwstraat 8, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Cool, quirky,welcomming and chic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is an ideally located hotel. Very cool and stylish on gorgeous surroundings. We found it really easily. Taking the free bus from the train station and using a really basic map. Check in was hassel free and staff were so so so helpful and nice. Even printing off train journey details for us for our onward travel!!! Our room was upstairs in the roof with a stunning roof window with amazing views. The stairs to the room are really steep and no elevator so ask for a ground room if mobility is an issue. Bathroom needed updating really. Very slight smell and a low sloping celing made it difficult to get dressed...but the bedroom made up for it. Stylishly decorated and comfortable beds. Wi-Fi available in hotel at no cost. Bonus but signal not great in bedrooms. Breakfast was free and delicious lots of choice. Location wonderful. Just minutes from historic centre. Would 100% recommend

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    104
    25
    8
    6
See reviews for
50
98
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Parbold, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

This hotel is in a lovely position close to the Lion Bridge. The area is residential, peaceful and quiet. The hotel itself is very clean and is run by very helpful and attentive staff. The bed linen and towels were changed each day. We found the beds to be very comfortable. Breakfast is excellent with a good selection of cereals, cooked meats, eggs and breads.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the canal.Below is a picture of the view from our bedroom window
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

There are several niggles, no lift and steep stairs being one, it was very good value for money. The room itself was clean and comfortable, however there was mould on several pieces of grout in the bathroom. We overlooked the street, so it was a little noisy. The receptionist Charlotte was extremely helpful and saved my husband from losing his phone, ipad and bag for which we were extremely grateful. Breakfast was plentiful and delecious. We were only a few hundred metres from the Markt and everywhere was within easy walking distance. Parking is available in a nearby underground carpark for only 8.7€ a day. All the staff were helpful. We had asked for a shower rather than a bath and it was very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a shower if you need one rather than complain when you don't get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I see some not-so-great reviews on here but here's my take and my opinion.

Let's not kid each other, the Walwyck is not the Four Seasons Hotel in Beverly Hills (stayed there many times while in LA). What it is, is a quaint and cozy hotel that's just right for the price. Yes, there are no elevators and the staircases are crazy steep but have you been in Europe?! Elevators, if they have them, are tiny and you are constantly climbing stairs in Europe, this is part of the deal when traveling there.

Let me tell you what I liked about Walwyck: First, the price. I looked around and was very pleased for what I got and for the look of the hotel at the price I got (booked online). I had no intentions of spending any time in the rooom other than to shower and to sleep. My room was on the top floor and while it was an adventure getting there, the room was tidy, clean, and comfortable. Of course, the shower was small but the bathroom was clean and served its purpose. This is not an ultra-modern hotel like Live Aqua in Cancun - it is a small cozy hotel in the middle of Brugge...and you know what? I wouldn't want it any other way.

The location was central and amongst the locals. You see lots of kids walking to school in the morning and riding their bikes. You are 2-3 blocks away from the main plaza and minutes away from lots of cool small bars and restaurants. After all, in Europe, you will be walking a lot (prepare for it with comfy shoes). The service was extremely friendly (Maria at the front desk is an angel) and they were very helpful, even giving us directions to some hidden local restaurants which weren't so touristy. The best part was their continental breakfast, I opted to pay a little more to have it included and it was more than worth it. Parking was near the hotel and priced right too.

One thing, I had a rooom facing the street and you do get a lot of noise. Honestly, I was so exhausted at the end of the night (plus I had a few drinks every night) so I did not mind. But if you are a light sleeper, try not to choose a room facing the street.

Overall, this is a well-put together little hotel. No thrills and no frills but a great location, great service, and 100% worth the money.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing away from the front of the hotel and
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We booked on line. So disappointed. Dirty hotel. No elevator and almost vertical staircase to room. Drapes had holes. Cobwebs under table. Sink & shower dirty. Toilet seat falling off. We checked in then immediately checked out and found a super hotel just around the corner.

Room Tip: do not book this hotel at all!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Bavaria, Germany
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This was the second time we stayed at this cute and cozy hotel. Its the perfect stay for a couple of days of sight seeing in Bruges.
Since the hotel is in a great location of town, only a few minutes walk to the city center, the parking is rather difficult. The spaces in front of the hotel are always full and the parking in the side streets are restricted and only for residents.
We parked our car at the Biekorf garage which has a fair 24 hour rate and is a 5 minute walk from the hotel.
The check in at the hotel is very friendly and smooth. We were immediately recognized by the multi-lingual staff as returning guests. All in all we had a very warm welcome.

Last time we visited this hotel, we had a standard room in the main house. The room was very small, so we opted for a superior room this time as there wasn't a big price difference.
The superior room was in a different building and slightly bigger than the standard one. The rooms in general are very nice, modern and clean but at the same time, very basic. There are barely any amenities. No blow dryer in the room (you can ask for one at the reception) and no minibar. A bottle of water in the room would be nice. There is a little flat screen TV, free Wi-Fi, and the beds are very comfortable.
Only real down turn in the room is the bath/shower. All the rooms I've seen have a bathtub including a shower head but its not usable to take a proper shower while standing. You are either forced to take a full bath or shower yourself while sitting in the tub.

The room rates include breakfast which is not huge but offers everything you need. The small buffet has eggs, cereals, assorted rolls and buns, some fruits and yoghurts. Along with coffee and tea.
Although we're missing a few things in this hotel, we would come back again. We feel appreciated as returning guests and we enjoy the family atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Hotel was clean and tidy, room was adequate with lovely towels and bedding, breakfast was continental style, breads, fruit, cheeses, ham, etc and very nice but room tended to be crowded at peak times. Had room 10 at the front of the hotel, no air con with the windows open led to an uncomfortable night as the traffic passing the building, both on foot and motorised was loud. Luckily road was not too busy but nonetheless disturbing.
Staff were helpful and pleasant, hotel was in a great location and we managed to park right outside for free which was a bonus.

Room Tip: If staying in the summer ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Walwyck Hotel Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walwyck Hotel Brugge

Address: Leeuwstraat 8, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Walwyck Hotel Brugge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Walwyck Hotel Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walwyck Hotel Bruges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walwyck Hotel Brugge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.