We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loaded with style & charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Walwyck Hotel Brugge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Walwyck Hotel Brugge to your Saves list
Walwyck Hotel Brugge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leeuwstraat 8, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Loaded with style & charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

The prettiest place we stayed among all our hotels in Belgium. Owner was extremely generous with his time, answering all our questions about sightseeing, restaurants, and how to get around. A very fresh, albeit "cozy" room, but a very good value, especially when you consider the breakfast included and the wonderful service. Thank you, Jeroen!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    104
    25
    8
    6
See reviews for
50
98
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012 via mobile

Friendly service, with clean light modern rooms. Easy walking distance to the market place, highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We Stayed at the Walwyck with our 2 young-ish(7 & 12) children. We found the staff helpful and cheerful and the rooms and facilities excellent. Breakfast was included in the price and was very tasty.

Our room was located in a separate annexe of the hotel, around the corner. Whilst this meant it was quieter, it did involve getting rugged up in coats etc to go to Breakfast. A minor inconvenience, but as an internal door did exist between the annexe and the hotel, perhaps this could be used in colder weather?

The Hotel is ideally placed to vist all the magnificent sites of Bruges , or just wander the lovely streeps and shop 'til you drop.

Room Tip: If you are travelling as a family, ask for teh Annexe top floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

A weekend in Bruges in February. This first thing you need is a comfortable hotel room to go back to after some good strolling along the "reien" (canals).

Hotel Walwyck definitely provides that for a very good price. The hotel is situated in the middle of the city center, so every spot, museum or restaurant is closeby. The rooms are fine, the beds are very good, but that is, off course, always personal.

In the morning a wonderfull breakfast is prepared, with the famous hot chocolate and basically everything you would wish for before a day around town.

We only have one small details for improvement, which was already addressed by the owner. Only a bath is not enough anymore. Especially when staying a few nights you will once be in need of a quick fresh shower.

We will certainly come back and hope it can be a 5 star stay then.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

This is a nice change of pace from traditional hotel rooms in Europe. The rooms are spacious and modern. Very comfortable, except the pillows they lacked any support. When you're travelling a good nights rest is important and a good pillow is apart of that scenario.

The hotel kept our bags the final day when we needed to check out but had time to kill before our train, which was nice. The only downfall to this place was the location which really isn't bad. We went to the laundromat and had to go across the bridge into the residential area which got a little sketchy at night.

Otherwise a nice little hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roermond, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Last December (2011) my boyfriend and I went to Bruges for a romantic Christmas holiday. We stayed at the Walwyck Hotel, and we are very happy we did. Our room was classified by the hotel as small, but we thought it was quite roomy, and it had more than enough room for us. The room was decorated in a modern style and everything looked really nice, the bed had a great mattress. The bathroom was a bit small, but nicely maintained and it was cleaned every morning at which time we were also given fresh towels. We stayed at the top floor at the street side, which meant it could be a bit noisy if a lot of cars past, but we didn't think it was too bad, we both slept great.

We also had breakfast there every morning, which consisted of croissants, little rolls of bread, eggs, fresh orange juice, cereal; the works. It was all very nice, and if something wasn't there, the staff would be very more than happy to get it for you.

The service was also very great as whenever we had a question or needed something, the staff would help us in any way that they could. All in all a great hotel at a central location for a fair price!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

We stayed here during a 4 day half term trip to Bruges and Antwerp.
I wanted a family room in a central location for a fair price and in attractive surroundings.The Walwyck satisfied all these demands! We were able to drop our bags off and then the hotel recommended an underground car park 4-5 minutes walk away.Our room was attractive yet simple, with crisp white linen on the beds. We were very central, so could easily walk to the main square.The hotel is situated on a quiet cobbled street by a canal.Breakfast is taken in a bright, white, stylish room. It was very good and the staff were pleasant ...however on one of the mornings everybody seemed to come down for breakfast at the same time so we had to wait a bit as well as for breakfast supplies to be stocked up!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Walwyck Hotel Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walwyck Hotel Brugge

Address: Leeuwstraat 8, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Walwyck Hotel Brugge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Walwyck Hotel Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walwyck Hotel Bruges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walwyck Hotel Brugge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.