We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zot blonde is now my favorite beer!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De Halve Maan (Straffe Hendrik) Brewery

De Halve Maan (Straffe Hendrik) Brewery
Walplein 26, Bruges 8000, Belgium
32 050 33 26 97
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 28 nightlife in Bruges
Type: Breweries
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Terceira, Portugal
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Zot blonde is now my favorite beer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The brewery tour was amazing and informative! I really enjoyed every part of our trip here. The restaurant is a little pricey but its worth it. Zot blonde is an excellent beer and I would highly recommend a visit to this brewery! The view of Bruges from the top of the brewery is spectacular!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    737
    360
    105
    21
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

This brewery tour was definitely one of the highlights of our three night stat in Bruges. A short walk from town, we made the effort to venture here after numerous recommendations. We arrived at 3:50 hoping to catch the 4:00pm tour but sadly it was full (weekend = busy!). Instead we booked a 5:00pm tour and spent time walking around the beautiful Minnewater park and local shops.

The tour lasted around an hour and was both enjoyable and informative with regards to the basics of brewing. Part of the tour included a trip to the brewery roof which gave a spectacular view over the city. The tour ended in the on site tavern with a complimentary pint of Bruges Zot, the house favourite. Considering the price of this in the pubs (~€4), I think €7 is a great price for the tour. Highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food, great beer and a great tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This had been recommended to us by several people, and apart from being closed during the week (it was January, we went across the road to 't Nieuw Walnutje instead for a very nice meal) it didn't disappoint. The tours were busy so we booked one for an hour later and had lunch in the brewery restaurant. The food was hearty and delicious, the beer was strong and equally tasty - I went for Straffe Hendrick trippel as I knew you got a free Zot at the end of the tour, perhaps not so sensible with all the stair and ladder climbing in the tour, but my constitution surprised me and I was fine. The tour was interesting, very accessible even to those not obsessed with beer, the tour guide was hilarious and her English was superb. We bought a lovely presentation pack of Straffe Hendrick in the gift shop for my brother in law, at 18 euros not bad for four bottles of trippel and quadruppel and a SH glass.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great tour and excellent beer.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We really enjoyed this part of the trip. It was a great tour that also provided excellent views of the city. After the tour we stayed for a few additional beers and enjoyed lunch. The atmosphere was friendly with community tables and nice service.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beer and Brugge - The Perfect Pair”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The Halve Maan brewery tour was a highlight of the trip. It is the best brewery tour we have ever been on - it's like a mini beer museum. There is also a great view from the roof. Best of all, the beer is delicious. This is a great thing to do to get a taste of Belgium.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Halve Maan (Straffe Hendrik) Brewery also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to De Halve Maan (Straffe Hendrik) Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Halve Maan (Straffe Hendrik) Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added De Halve Maan (Straffe Hendrik) Brewery to your Saves list