We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast in Bruges” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hobo Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bruges
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hobo Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Hobo Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Ganzenstraat 54, Bruges, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 215 Bruges B&B and Inns
Cheltenham
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great breakfast in Bruges”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

We stayed at the Hobo B&B in April for two nights, very friendly lady and the breakfast on both mornings was lovely - only 5 minute walk to the main square in Bruges. if you come out of the B & B and turn right and right again down to the canal - just by the brigde is a great resturant, not cheap - but where is now - but very good.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    21
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
45
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

I stayed in the black and white room, which lived up to it's name in terms of the colour scheme! Lovely old box cameras on the mantlepiece, black and white photos (arty body shots, so pick another room if you're deeply conservative!), and an ensuite shower and basin. The pressure's not great in the shower, but very hot water is available at all times. As other reviews have stated, it's an oldish house so the floorboards are creaky, something you're aware of both in your own room and if there are guests above you. This isn't a hotel, so don't expect the bed to be made etc when you return after a day out. Also, the heater does need to be on pretty much all the time if you feel the cold, and it would have been nice if the room had been warmed up a little prior to my arrival. Additionally, the curtains are white netting type fabric so take an eye mask if you're the type to wake up as soon as it gets light. The TV has Belgian channels and around four English/American channels that are subtitled and usually showing stuff like CSI/ Friends/make over shows etc.The road is quiet, and it's a lovely 10 minute stroll to the centre, past lots of shops and restaurants, and a medium sized supermarket nearby. The reason I stayed here was others glowing reviews of the breakfast, and this did not disappoint. While other places also serve cheese, meat, bread etc, the quality of the produce here is much better, and I can't praise the presentation enough-little flowers and chopped up green bits as accents on the dishes, really charming. Kristin will also cook something for you -an egg, omelette (if you're veggie or non pork, make sure she knows) or delicious little pancakes. There is loads too, so I made up sandwiches and took some of the wrapped cheeses with me to snack on in the day. Bear in mind that it's assumed you will have breakfast, so make sure you inform Kristin if you plan not to, as otherwise the hard work goes to waste. You'd be daft not to really, as it's at a very civilised 8:30-10am and she's pretty flexible about that. The dining room is open all day, with cutlery, bowls, hot water etc and heaps of different teas available. I liked the decor too and it's nice to stay somewhere that's decorated with a bit of artistic flair and individuality that isn't "in yer face" about it. Kristin is pleasant and helpful and was kind enough to call a taxi for me when I needed it. There is a noticeable cigarette smell in the hallways but not in the rooms, and if you smoke then you can do so in peace just outside the house. One thing I would mention is that the stairs are very narrow, not so much in width but in terms of the tread (you have to kind of first position ballet your way down if you see what I mean) so keep that in mind if you have any mobility/balance issues. Kristin gave me the internet pass code and I had no trouble accessing the internet from my room. All in all a nice, comfortable place to stay, a cut above your average B&B.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

We stayed 5 nights at Hobo B&B and we would suggest it to friends for many reason.
It's at walking distance to main turist attractions in Bruges but in a quiet and silent street. Room was clean and the shared toilet wasn't a problem at all, it was very clean! In the room with had shower, hairdrier, towels, shower gel etc
but most of all Kristi, B&B owner is very kind, not only giving you suggestions regarding the city, but preparing a delicious and lovely breakfast in the beautiful breakfast room.
She helped us when we had a flu and we won't forget it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

Kristin and her b&b make Bruges a better place.
Kristin is so cosy and nice, and makes you feel at home (mmm...maybe BETTER than at home).
Wonderful breakfast, very nice rooms, and excellent position: close to the center, in a silent street.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

Hobo Bread and Breakfast is a nice place. Kristin is very nice and helpful. The rooms are claen and well appointed. Breakfast is awesome. The B&B is value for money

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas, USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

Our stay at the Hobo B & B in Bruges was a delight. The room was very nicely appointed, and had a large en suite bath and double sink. The sumptuous breakfasts of fruits, yogurt, breads and pastries, omelets or pancakes were delicious and beautifully presented, and the breakfast room is available all day long for self-serve coffee, tea, and beer. Kristin is a wonderful hostess and happy to help you decide how to spend your time in her beautiful town.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

As most others already mentioned: Simple rooms, great breakfast.
Although we also noticed the cigarette smell. We were in the navy room. It has a bath but no shower. The toilet is in the hall but it's right around te corner.
Especially at night there were noises...
...tick tock's from the heating.
...an indescribable noise when ( we guess ) the toilet on the floor above us was flushed.
( Seriously we thought a motorcycle accident happend just outside the door... )

The lady of the house is very friendly and helpfull. Including the parkingservice of changing the parkingdisc every 4 hours. Tips, maps, books etc, available.

It's a 10 min. walk to the centre of Bruges which is perfect.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hobo Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hobo Bed and Breakfast

Address: Ganzenstraat 54, Bruges, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 215 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hobo Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.