We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Choco-Story - The Chocolate Museum

Choco-Story - The Chocolate Museum
Wijnzakstraat 2 | Sint-Jansplein, Bruges 8000, Belgium
050 61 22 37
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 121 things to do in Bruges
Attraction details
Oxford
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Frankly, I feel a bit ripped off after visiting this place. For 14 euros for two people there were four floors of information about chocolate, most of it is pretty basic and not at all what you'd expect. My husband and I were bored by the second room and only continued to see if we would get our money's worth out of it. It is geared more towards kids, I think, but there are so many panels of information that the younger ones will lose interest in no time. Save your money and spend it on better (and cheaper) museums in Bruges.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    341
    305
    137
    63
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Sounded promising, lacks interest”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

You would think you cant go wrong with a museum dedicated to chocolate and it's history. Not so. This museum left me feeling a bit put out as I came out not really feeling like I had learnt anything and the exhibits didn't catch the imagination or attention. Maybe that is my fault for imagining something like Willy Wonkas chocolate factory to amaze and excite.

Only really worth the visit if you have booked a day extra and have very little to do.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Germany
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“More than we expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Was good for both adults and children - a lot of panels and interesting exhibits. For little ones that can't read probably the chocolate tasting and presentation at the end about the making of chocolate was the most interesting

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
109 attraction reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Good for adults, not so for kids”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

An interesting hour or so can be spent here, lots of exhibits, mostly in 3 languages, and a fair amount of detail. If you. Like museums, you'll have fun. If you're 5 years old, you'll have less fun. There is a treasure hunt style activity they hand out which my kids got into, but t wasn't enough to keep them distracted for long, so I got to see about. 10% of the total information on display. Still, for 10 euros for 3 of us ( including the discount from out hotel) t wast too bad

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Average at best- only for the due hard chocolate fan!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Several sections running through how chocolate is made to how it has developed through history. A story of mankind with tenuous links to when they may have eaten chocolate. If its raining you could kill a few hours(1) here but don't be disappointed if you miss it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Choco-Story - The Chocolate Museum also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Choco-Story - The Chocolate Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Choco-Story - The Chocolate Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.