We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“XXL apartment at Hotel Bonobo is perfect for a family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bonobo Apart Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bonobo Apart Hotel to your Saves list
Bonobo Apart Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Goezeputstraat 5, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
Alton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“XXL apartment at Hotel Bonobo is perfect for a family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We have a 16 year old son who is now too old, and too tall ,to sleep on a sofa bed or on a put-me-up in the same room as us, so the two bedroom XXL apartment in Hotel Bonobo was a perfect solution. We drove from the UK and my husband was delighted that his precious car was could be safely parked in a gated car park (you reserve a space on their website booking form so parking was easy).
The owners are lovely and spoke excellent English. On arrival you are given a small guidebook and decent map of Brugge to borrow during your stay,plus lots of useful information on events, restaurants etc which is a lovely touch. The apartment (which is on the top floor - but there is a small lift) was immaculately clean, spacious and had stunning views from every window. The apartment was split level, with three steps separating the large bathroom and lounge (with new flat screen tv, on which you could access many English speaking channels including BBC1 and 2!). The kitchen area was small but perfectly adaquate for making breakfast and lunch. It included a full-sized fridge, ceramic hob, microwave, kettle and toaster.
Eating out is expensive in Bruges but, as it was only a few minutes walk to all the main tourist attractions, it was easy to pop back for a simple lunch. There is a Carrefour Express mini supermarket and a good bakers shop less than 5 minutes walk away.
We stayed for 4 nights and we immediately felt comfortable and at home. During one of those days we took the train to Gent as the train station was only a 15 minute walk away.
The apartment has radiators which can be both indivdually controlled (and switched off if necessary) and controlled overall by a termastat in the dining area. The velux windows can be opened to different degrees if you get a bit hot, which is perfect.
We would definitely recommend this apartment to any family with older children.

Room Tip: The XXL apartment is perfect for a family of 3 or 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    39
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
101
174
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We chose Bonobo based on Tripadvisor reviews and we weren’t disappointed. The hotel is a straightforward 10 minute walk from the train station and in a central location for everything else.

The owner told us we had ‘the quietest room in Brugge’ and he was right. We were in apartment 15 at the back and it was clean and spacious with a microwave, hob and toaster. It even had a bath, much to my husband’s delight. The bed was two single beds pushed together, but we didn’t notice it being any different to a double bed. It was a good size – and exceptionally comfortable. We slept so well! Some people have commented on the noise of the bells – that was a plus for us, as we loved hearing them in the morning. Our apartment also had a small terrace with table and chairs. Despite the unseasonable April weather we did manage to have a snack and some wine on the terrace one evening, looking out over the church – absolutely beautiful.

We spent three nights but wish we’d had much longer. Brugge is beautiful and enchanting and we will definitely be back – and we will definitely stay in Bonobo again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had a spacious, comfortable and immaculately clean apartment for three nights. The location is great, easy to walk to any of the main tourist points in the city yet tucked far enough away to be quiet (except for the church bells!). Hans was very helpful with directions and recommendations for places to eat and drink. Supplying a guidebook was a nice extra touch. Would happily stay here again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is a great Apart Hotel.
- Perfect location
- Beautiful, spacious, clean and very well equipped rooms
- Very friendly and helpful owners (Thank you so much Hans for the list of recommended restaurants and pubs, tried most of them and they all were great and our favorite is l'estimenat, we fell in love with this place)

Thank you Hans and Magda, loved your hotel, loved Bruges and we'll definitely come back one day.

Diana

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We picked to stay at Bonobo simply because it was the top rated hotel on TA, reasonably priced and had car parking facilities. My Husband and I stayed for 3 nights in February 2013. The location is great if you are driving as it is fairly close to the train station and the main road into Bruges.

We were upgraded to one of the larger rooms which had a separate living area as well as kitchen, bedroom and bathroom. There was plenty of space, yet the room still felt warm and cosy. In the room was a guidebook, which we found really useful, along with recommendations for good restaurants. The owners were also really friendly and helpful.

Would definitely stay here again on a return trip!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

What a great little hotel. Great location, really clean and good value. Hans is like hans solo, really helpful and always welcoming. We were woken by the bells of church of our lady, how gorgeous is that!! Loved Brugge, quaint streets, lots of restaurants (not all great )

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This hotel/apartment was excellent value for money; a little worn but spotlessly clean. The hoteliers were very welcoming and helpful. The location was ideal, 10 minute walk from the Grosse Markt. The pony and trap ride (€39) helped us get our bearings and helped us optimise our short stay. Food was very expensive but on the last night we found an excellent restaurant, 't Fonteintje in Simon Stevinplein. €20 set 3 course menu and €11 for the child's menu. The food was very well cooked; the restaurateur very welcoming. Find a sandwich bar to get lunch as the 'cooked' lunches were too expensive and not very nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bonobo Apart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonobo Apart Hotel

Address: Goezeputstraat 5, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#3 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bonobo Apart Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bonobo Apart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bonobo Apart
Bonobo Apart Bruges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bonobo Apart Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.