We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great city centre location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 't Voermanshuys

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel 't Voermanshuys to your Saves list
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oude Burg 14, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
Hua Hin, Thailand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“great city centre location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Great city centre location for sightseeing in Bruges, everything is right on your doorstep. We have no GPS but the hotel very kindly sent us clear directions which we were able to follow easily. Bit of a wak from the car park but that's a small price to pay for the location. The hotel is a little outdated but is clean and comfortable & had everything that we needed, and great to have such a large room that really was a treat - something we wouldn't get from a more modern hotel! Very pleasant and helpful owner. A very good breakfast was included in the price. Really good value for money for such a great location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    45
    26
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
65
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This hotel is ideally situated for sightseeing in Bruges. There are some good restaurants and bars nearby, so not too far to stumble home. It was also reasonably priced, which is a bonus as Bruges is not a cheap place!

The hotel itself could do with some updating. My room was a reasonable size with dark furniture and a TV, although the remote didn't work. The bed was comfortable enough but the pillows and duvet were very thin. This was a bonus however, as it got very hot during the night and I had to open the window, which unfortunately led out onto a fairly busy street. Between listening to the bells ringing, the horses clip-clopping up and down the street, the cars rumbling over the cobbles and the general heat of the room, not much sleep was had!

Also there was only a shower head draped over the taps in the bath and no bathmat or shower curtain - having a shower would have been easier if there had been somewhere to hang the shower head, but at least the water was warm and the room itself was clean and spacious.

The breakfast left a little to be desired too. We were expecting a continental breakfast, but there was only cereal, bread, cheese and ham, no fruit or yoghurts.

All in all, it was a fairly enjoyable place to stay, but with a little care and attention, it could be so much better

Room Tip: Room 9 was spacious but looked over the main road which could be noisy when the windows were open
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This hotel should be top of your list if you're planning a stay in Bruges, whilst the bed was a little uncomfortable this was more than compensated for by the helpfulness of the owner, the quality and selection available for the breakfast and the central location of the hotel, i would definately stay there again if visiting the city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The staff of Hotel 't Voermanshuys was very helpful and the hotel location is perfect. The bed was comfortable and the triple room was very large. However, this hotel is somewhere between 1 and 2 stars. It was like staying in an elderly aunt's house - clean, basic but old and in need of updating. I was also very surprised that the bath consisted of a tub and shower head but no where on the wall to hang or attach the shower head. This is incredibly inconvenient and could easily be remedied.

The dining room is lovely so clearly the owners take some pride in their hotel. Hopefully that attitude is applied to all the rooms soon. For the price (relative to others in Bruges) and location, Hotel 't Voermanshuys is a reasonable choice.

Room Tip: Limited number of room types, so book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

This was our 5th stay in this wonderful family run hotel in the centre of Bruges
We booked for our yearly visit to the Christmas market early as is a very popular hotel and gets booked quickly
Wonderful simple continental breakfast with a good choice of options and plenty of hot water for making tea

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rustington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

The welcome was very friendly and helpful and ideally situated for the centre of Bruges. Our room (7) was small with oddments of furniture and needed small maintenance jobs doing to tidy it up. The bed was comfy but had two single duvets on a double bed. It got extremely hot both nights and an unpleasant smell even when we left the window open. The bathroom was adequate size, had no shower and would benefit from having a working extractor fan. They are trialling wi-fi so charged 2 euros for the weekend which worked fine in the breakfast room but not in the bedroom. There was a reasonable choice for breakfast with plenty of bread and refill of coffee. As this was our first visit to Bruges, I don't know if this is the usual standard, but I have stayed in much better B&B's in the UK.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

My friend booked us in for 1 night. Great location with many shops close by. Room was big. Huge bathroom. Employees and manager was very helpful and polite. Our breakfast was included in Our room price which consisted of a basic good quality feed.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 't Voermanshuys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 't Voermanshuys

Address: Oude Burg 14, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 't Voermanshuys 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel 't Voermanshuys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel t Voermanshuys
t Voermanshuys Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 't Voermanshuys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.