We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovingly maintained accomodations with LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Huyze Hertsberge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bruges
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Huyze Hertsberge
Hertsbergestraat 8, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 211 Bruges B&B and Inns
Scarsdale, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovingly maintained accomodations with LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

The Huyze Hertsberge and Cote Canal, two 18th C homes artfully restored and tastefully decorated with lovely vignettes of period accessories, is run by a gracious Flemish couple who are very accommodating of their guests needs. One warning, however; if you can't do stairs, this is not the place for you! My room was on the second floor in the Huyze Hertsberge; the staircase was not as steep as that of the second home, Cote Canal. The views from my room overlooked the beautifully maintained garden which would have been the ideal breakfast spot had the weather not been unseasonably cool. The location, just north of the fish market, removes one from the crowds gathered at the Market Center, but less than a five minute walk from the center of the city. Breakfast, served from 8-10, included fresh-baked breads delivered that morning, delicious coffee, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals, scrambled eggs, and cheeses and meats.
Caroline was kind enough to pack me a breakfast-to-go when I left at 7 am on the morning of my departure. The room was huge - 18 ft ceilings, a two room suite with a modern bath. They also make the living room and gardens available to the guests, and the hosts are as unobtrusive or available as needed. They supplied me with a city map and a book of restaurants, carefully notated with recommendations for local cuisine, good seafood, good value. Every meal at one of their recommendations was superb!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
51
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

My girlfriend and I spent a wonderful two nights in the Empire Suite at the beginning of March. Caroline really is a fantastic hostess, being tirelessly helpful but without intruding or interfering.

Considering Bruges is an expensive city, the guesthouse is really great value. Our room was huge and decorated with exquisite taste, as is the rest of the house.

The breakfasts were delicious and benefit from the same attention to detail, love and care that Caroline pours into everything else in her home.

As a a tip, I would advise making reservations for restaurants before you arrive in Bruges and Caroline will happily help you with this if you email her

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

We were lucky, there was a cancel so we could get the new attic room. On arrival we received a warm welcome from the hostess Caroline.
A nice clean room in old style. Very nice to stay in this atmosphere. The delicious breakfast was excessive. This guesthouse is highly recommended because the location is very good because it is located in the old town.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

This is the first time I have ever felt compelled to right a review on this site but I felt the stay at Huyze Hertsbege diserved it.

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights over Valentines weekend. We immediately felt at home when we arrived. The owner Caroline was very nice and nothing was too much trouble. She was on hand if you needed taxi's booked or restaurant reservations made. Its clear she enjoys running the B&B and its a passion rather than a chore.

The room was clean and beautiful and the location was superb. Breakfast was nice with plenty of pastries and coffee.


The reason why I booked other than the reviews was because of the price. I really think you would struggle to find better value. Completely recommend for anyone wanting a nice relaxing stay in Bruges!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

This was our home away from home for the 2 nights and 3 days we spent in Bruges. We stayed in the attic room, which we loved. The room was very large and had all the little touches that made us feel welcome. The large wooden beams that can be seen in this room are immaculately preserved and give it an authentic and charming feel.

It was great to be able to see the canal from our room as well as the beautiful back garden. I particularly appreciated the bathrobes and slippers we received, as I would not normally expect this in a B&B. The living room and kitchen areas in the house are caringly and carefully decorated and truly make you feel at ease with the surroundings. Breakfast was absolutely delicious. You are served with all kinds of delicious, fresh bread, cheese and hams and much much more wholesome goodies.

I really feel this B&B is true to its roots and the city of Bruges and it would most certainly enhance your experience there. Last, but not least, Caroline was genuinely helpful from the get-go. She could recommend anything from chocolates and lace to restaurants and sights. Knowledgeable and caring, it was great spending time in her house and with her. She is the heart and soul of the place and long may it prosper.

I would not stay anywhere else in Bruges.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2009

Very lovely and charming house and Caroline is a gem. Nothing is too much bother and she fusses about every little detail. Beautiful house, beautiful location.

Very nice simple breakfast with an ever changing selection of breads and yummy things. Very filling and nice and cosy with a few other guests at the table.
The tea and coffee and downstairs, not in the room. A bit of a hike when up two floors.

Exceptionally large room with couch and even a second level with extra bedding.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

3 girls stayed in the Empire Suite and it was perfect, the room had 2 bedrooms beautifully decorated, wonderful views of the canal in a quiet but central location. It exceeded all our expectations, Caroline the hostess was helpful, friendly and happy to share advice regarding the city. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Huyze Hertsberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huyze Hertsberge

Address: Hertsbergestraat 8, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 211 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huyze Hertsberge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Huyze Hertsberge to your Saves list