We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very homely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gulden Vlies

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Gulden Vlies to your Saves list
Hotel Gulden Vlies
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Kon. Elisabethlaan 40, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #116 of 215 Bruges B&B and Inns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very homely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Fleur let us have the room after we were disappointed to miss out on the last room at her b and b. In saying that I am glad we missed out. We stayed in room 4 and it became home for the next 3 days. Our room was big, and very clean. Breakfast was great too.

If we are ever back in bruges we will book here again.

Loved it!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    62
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
14
80
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This hotel is a short walk from the centre,the room was small but clean and comfortable, there was no charge for our dog, the breakfast selection is one of the best we have ever had,the owners were friendly and helpful, I dont think you would be disapponted if you stayed there.

Room Tip: ask if they have a room on a low floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had a wonderful experience staying at Hotel Gulden Vlies in Brugge.

We had one of the smallest double room in the hotel but for us that wasn't a problem at all. On the contrary, the room was just what we wanted: small, cozy, very clean, with bathroom, soap and shampoo, towels and a drier.
The room was also facing the main road but we didn't experience any noise problems during the night.

Breakfast is delicious and the host was very helpful.

The hotel is about 20-25 min walking distance from the station and only 5-10 minutes to the city center.

The wifi wasn't working properly but the host offered us an alternative connection and it was ok.

Would definitely recommend it, good quality-price rate overall.

Room Tip: The room might be too small for other tastes and indeed it's at the 3rd floor with no lift. But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The Gulden Vlies is easy to find and parking is free across the street. The owners are welcoming an the breakfast is great. The room we had was clean and comfortable. We had a short walk to the town center where there was plenty of history, cafes and shops. TIP: go to the tourist information center for the I love Brugge booklet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wurzburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Positive:
-location,
-the breakfast,
-the free parking, just you park in the road,
-we arrived around 10 o´clock in the night, and we found the keys and an envelope with a map and some information of the town in a small table just behind the main door.

Negative:- no elevator,
- old towels.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga,
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here 3 nights and have no negative comments at all. The price was great, the room clean with small but adequate bathroom and the staff were most friendly and helpful. Parking around the immediate location was free which is a bonus and the breakfast, included in the room rate, although only Continental which suited my husband and me fine. All in all a fantastic find in a fantastic town.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

My wife and liked this hotel for its location (close enough to center and easy way to dirive by car) first of all. And another point I'd to focus is hotel atmosphere: good service, clean rooms, worning WiFi, calm and quiet.

Room Tip: I would recomend rooms looking into back ward - it's very quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gulden Vlies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gulden Vlies

Address: Kon. Elisabethlaan 40, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 215 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Gulden Vlies 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Gulden Vlies is a small bed and breakfast hotel in a stately mansion from the early 20th century with some unique art-deco architectural details. A rich variety on the breakfast buffet : fresh fruit, cereals, buns, bread, yoghurt, cold cuts, regional cheeses, coffee, tea,... included in roomrate. All rooms have ensuite bathroom, hairdryer, radio & tv. Plenty of free parking on our street; 10 minutes walking form Market square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Gulden Vlies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gulden Vlies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.