We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality at its very best.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Exclusive Guesthouse Bonifacius

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Exclusive Guesthouse Bonifacius to your Saves list
Exclusive Guesthouse Bonifacius
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Groeninge 4, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free parking!
Ranked #9 of 213 Bruges B&B and Inns
The Wirral
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Hospitality at its very best.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

This was my fourth visit to Bruges and I brought along family members. We all agree that The Bonifacius is an exceptional place to stay. At every level there is attention to detail.
Lyne strives to make sure that all her guests are made to feel welcome and want for nothing. Unfortunately one of our party was taken ill on our journey from Calais.
On our arrival Lyne showed discreet consideration and helped in every way she could, making sure that the two of us who were not able to leave the guest house for a restaurant meal did not go hungry. She made up a tray of delicious cheeses, breads and jams with coffee and tea. This was very much appreciated. She even 'phoned to secure a table at a nearby restaurant for the other two family members.
Breakfast at The Bonifacius is a feast to behold. The fresh fruit, freshly squeezed orange juice, freshly baked breads, cooked meat and cheeses are delicious and Lyne is happy to cook a hot breakfast to your liking. You really won't need lunch! All of this is at a time to suit you.
There is all day access to complimentary teas and coffees in the lounge/breakfast room and a room fridge which is stocked daily with soft drinks and beers.
As we were travelling in January, we did not expect sunny skies and warm weather. It was wonderful to be able to nip back into The Bonifacius at intervals during the day to warm up and dry out and grab a cup of coffee whilst relaxing with a book in front of a roaring fire for half an hour or so.
We were delighted with our rooms which were spacious and well appointed, reflecting Lyne's excellent taste in furnishings and interior design.
At the Bonifacius you are right in the heart of things, yet tucked away in a quiet lane directly opposite one of my favourite restaurants - Den Gouden Harrynck which should not be missed.
Would we return to The Bonifacius? Most certainly, it's home from home and hopitality at its very best!

Room Tip: Each of the three rooms is lovely. The room overlooking the canal - Clair Obscur is probably the lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
174
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hants
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

The most charming place that we have stayed in a very long time. My husband and I were celebrating our wedding anniversary and chose to stay in Guesthouse Bonifacius as we wanted a more authentic and less commercial experience of Bruges - we definitely made the right choice. Guesthouse Bonifacius is perfect in every way, from the moment you arrive and are personally greeted by Lyne, the most attentive and welcoming host. The rooms are beautiful (it would not matter which room you stayed in, they are all stunning), the location is amazing, close to the centre, steps away from the Groeninge Museum and Church of Our Lady, yet tucked away down a quiet side street so very peaceful. Breakfast is an event in itself, the table charmingly laid and fresh fruit, warm croissants, cheese and hams, all served individually, followed by a cooked breakfast any way you wish - the attention to detail is exquisite – and all this whilst overlooking the picturesque Bonifacius bridge and the canal – complete relaxation. Lyne is such a wonderful host, nothing is too much trouble and her recommendations for dinner and places to visit were faultless. We honestly would not stay anywhere else in Bruges.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We feel so very fortunate to have found this small guesthouse for our three-night stay in Bruges and we highly recommend it to anyone looking for a beautiful, historic, perfectly situated and relaxing place to stay. The property is incredible, dating back to the 16th century and retaining that charm while being luxuriously outfitted with modern conveniences. The view from the breakfast room as well as the room we stayed in, the Clair Obscur, are directly onto the canal, next to the most beautiful little bridge in the city, the Bonifacius.

The proprietor, Lyne, goes way above and beyond in terms of making you feel at home. Breakfast is served at whatever time you choose, which is very accommodating and convenient. The first morning, we feasted on the lovely homemade pastries, cheese and charcuterie and felt fortified for the day. THEN Lyne asked us how we wanted our eggs prepared. We never needed lunch the entire stay. And the breakfast was delicious. Tea and coffee are available in the breakfast room at any time of day, and the refrigerator in each room is stocked with complimentary beverages.

The location really could not be any better. Bruges can feel overrun with tourists, and the Bonifacius is down a quiet street, yet within very easy walking distance to anything in the central city. You're directly across from the Church of Our Lady, situated right between the Groeninge Museum and the Memling, next to the most picturesque bridge in the city, and maybe a five-minute walk away from Burg Square and the Belfry. The gates to the grounds of Our Lady church are locked at night, which makes the location even quieter. Mind you, you will have constant canal cruises going by and a parade of tourists crossing the bridge during the day, but there is no way to completely escape the Bruges crowds. At night, though, you have the place all to yourself (although some swans seemed to have a rather wild party right outside our room one night, but that was kind of charming—we didn't hear a sound the other two nights)!

Our room was wonderful. It was spacious and comfortable, the bathroom was fantastic (great shower, double sink, nice tub) and it was just a delightful place to stay.

We really loved our time here and hope to return to Bruges and stay at the Bonifacius again. Lyne was absolutely wonderful—the ideal host.

Room Tip: The Clair Obscur is the largest room in the guesthouse and is directly on the canal. It's quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Guesthouse the weekend before Christmas and we simply cannot fault our stay. Our host, Lyne, simply could not do enough to accommodate us and to ensure that our stay was as comfortable and pleasant as possible.
The Guesthouse itself is beautiful, extremely homely and comfortable. The location is perfect as it is very close to the town centre but is in a very quiet area.
Breakfast was wonderful each day and Lyne could not do enough to ensure that we had all the food and drink we needed and more.
We will certainly be returning to Bruges and, without any doubt, the Guesthouse is where we will stay upon our return. Many thanks Lyne for making our pre-Christmas get-away even more perfect than we hoped for.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Our two night stay at Guesthouse Bonifacius in late November was absolutely perfect. Lyne is a wonderful host, she is welcoming and attentive - nothing was too much trouble. The guesthouse is located in a period property overlooking the canal, it is beautifully decorated and the breakfast room has a lovely view of the canal, Bonifacius bridge, and the Church of Our Lady. We stayed in the well appointed Guinevere suite (decorated with the Ralph Lauren Guinevere fabric hence the name), which had a four poster bed and immaculate bathroom with large walk-in shower separate jacuzzi bath, fluffy robes and complimentary toiletries. The room is street side but is located on a very quiet street so noise was not an issue. Each room also has a complimentary mini bar containing bottled water, soft drinks and beer. We were particularly impressed with breakfast (Lyne will serve breakfast at whatever time you would like) because we were expecting a standard B&B continental breakfast. Not at Bonifacius! A delicious fresh fruit platter, fresh warm bread and pasteries, cheese, meats, fresh juice, endless tea and coffee, and eggs any style made to order. It was a perfect start to a day of sightseeing. Finally, the location of the Guesthouse is perfect, less than a 10 minute walk from all of the main sights. A perfect guesthouse, we will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

Had a wonderful time, can not recommend highly enough. Lynn the host was welcoming and attentive making sure we had everything we needed. Perfect location. room was beautiful. Highlight was having tea and chocolate by the fire with Christmas tree lights twinkling

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We travelled to Bruges for our Silver wedding and were thrilled to find such a gem as Bonifacius. Lyn is an excellent host and great with advice about where to visit and shop in Bruges, even gave us a map so that we could follow up on her suggestions. Will definitely return, loved the uniqueness of the place and to have swans swimming last whilst we were having breakfast was an extra bonus

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Exclusive Guesthouse Bonifacius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exclusive Guesthouse Bonifacius

Address: Groeninge 4, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 213 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Exclusive Guesthouse Bonifacius 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set along the canal in the most picturesque area of the city centre of Bruges an exclusive 16th-century guesthouse is hidden. You stay cocooned in the luxury of a private house and yet enjoy the equipment of a hotel deluxe with extremely high comfort. Bonifacius' guestrooms radiate an elegant and refined ambiance, all different in style and character, with authentic and original antiques, objects d'art and elegant fabrics. Free breakfast, charming and romantic B&B in city center, Free internet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Exclusive Guesthouse Bonifacius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Exclusive Guesthouse Bonifacius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.