We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quaint and cosy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Malleberg

Save Saved
You added Hotel Malleberg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Malleberg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hoogstraat 7, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free canalcruise
Ranked #29 of 101 hotels in Bruges
liverpool
1 review
“quaint and cosy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights, and found the hotel to be very cosy, clean, friendly and in a great location. It is situated on a quiet side street just off the Burg and literally a two minute walk from the main Markt Square and Belfry Tower. Only a 15 minute walk from the station too!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

181 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    82
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
40
82
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

My wife and I needed a spot for one night in Bruges - this fit the bill perfectly!

It was within walking distance to everything you would want to see (main square, burg, main shopping streets), and was exceptionally clean and well appointed. It was an older place, but I suspect this is to be expected in such an old city - that said, the room was very comfortable and relaxing, and the washroom was also very clean.

The included breakfast was arguably one of the best we've ever had! So good ...

The only negative was the parking was a few streets up, but we managed to drive in, drop of our bags, and then park overnight for a very reasonable flat rate.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: We overlooked the courtyard which was nice and quiet ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The Hotel Malleberg was perfect for our stay in Brugge. My wife, 9 year old daughter, and I had triple that was roomy, well maintained, and comfortable. The room was quiet with retrofitted newer windows on the outside of the older exterior windows to keep the appropriate look from the outside inside (no outside noise, though the hotel is not on a major driving road). Frank was super helpful as we had an emergency to send important documents back to the US and he helped us get that done with a scanner and email. The breakfast room is really unique and a nice surprise. It's cozy and well decorated and the food was excellent. As others have said, the location is close to everything in the city center and we walked everywhere. It's a beautiful city and I highly recommend a stay at Hotel Malleberg.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We drove up to this hotel and took a taxi to the train station as we left (under €10, and took less than 10 minutes) the next day. It is located really centrally and is just a 2 minute walk from the Burg Square, and not even 5 minutes from the Grote Markt. It is a tastefully decorated, with beautiful spacious rooms and is very clean and tidy. The shower is very simplistic, but works well. We had two beautiful rooms on the top floor with beautiful wooden beams going across the top. It was really nice.

A buffet breakfast is served downstairs in the cellar and that too is decorated nicely. Fresh coffee/tea/hot chocolate is offered as is a big spread of breads, croissants, pastries and yoghurts, an egg boiling station, cold meats/pates, cereals and fresh fruit.

Bruges is a quiet town (well, quiet when we were there during the week anyhow) so we had no problems with noise or anything being so central.

All in all, a really lovely hotel that is tidy and very pretty. Service was at times a bit cold and abrupt, but was always very efficient and hospitable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, Kent
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights first week of October.

The hotel has a lovely entrance hall, reception area, courtyard and breakfast rooms. Very good location for the market n berg and found some nice restaurants not too far away

My only issue was noise from the neighbouring room and traffic as our room faced the street. We could hear everything in room next door from shower running to the couple talking in the middle of the night.

I would stay here again, but would probably request a courtyard facing room

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxhaw
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We all loved our stay here. The location was fabulous, a short walk to everything we wanted to see. The hotel was beautiful and clean and the staff were very friendly.
The rooms were a very nice size for our group of 3. We had to leave very early in the morning and they were very happy to give us our breakfast early. As in most places we stayed, they had only one choice of eggs ---boiled. That is my only complaint.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Good hotel with very friendly hosts. Great location only a few minutes from the main square, shops and restaurants. Breakfast is good but more fresh fruit selection would make it better. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Malleberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Malleberg

Address: Hoogstraat 7, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Bruges
#33 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Malleberg 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Malleberg is a comfortable, friendly, family-run hotel at a unique location just 200 m from the market square. Situated in the heart of magnificent Bruges, the hotel is ideal for cyclists and perfect for discovering the old town of Bruges and its surrounding area. A warm welcome awaits you in a quiet and friendly atmosphere. Our pleasant rooms provide every comfort and they all have their own bathroom with shower. Coffee and tea facilities in the room are standard. You will experience Belgian hospitality in this typical Bruges town house that instantly becomes home to every guest. Families are very welcome to our family suite, which is ideal for parents and their children. You start the day with a full, refined, hearty breakfast in our 16th-century cellar. Please let us know if you need any information on tourist attractions, excursions, bicycle rental, museums, etc. In the afternoons you are invited to have a free cup of coffee or tea in our lounge. A PC is available at no extra charge and there is free Wi-Fi all over the hotel and in all the rooms. On a nice day you can enjoy our patio with its gorgeous flowers and plants. Our hotel becomes a home to every guest! The Vienne-Van Lersberghe family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Malleberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malleberg Hotel Bruges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Malleberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.