We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Martin's Relais

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Martin's Relais to your Saves list
Hotel Martin's Relais
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Genthof 4a, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
uk
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Great hotel location, very short walk to Burg, Market & all bars and restaurants.

Large canal front room, old furniture, OK bathroom.

Very helpful staff when had to postpone trip at the last minute. Moved booking at no cost, despite being just a few hours before arrival - flight cancellation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    211
    67
    28
    6
See reviews for
65
320
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Martin's Relais for 2 nights in August 2013...and we loved every second of it. A short cab ride from the train station brings you to the hotel. It is well appointed, in a beautiful old mansion with a cute gated garden out front. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful, the rooms clean and spacious with great views, and the location couldn't be better. Literally a 5 min walk from the square. We stayed in the "room with garden view". The room was large compared to most hotel rooms through Europe, with a great bathroom, and amazing view of the back garden. It was quiet, and we slept without any disturbances. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

If we could award 3.5 stars then we would. This is a good hotel, great location, quiet, friendly and in decent condition. I suspect that for a Brugges city centre hotel that's pretty good. But the room had not been deep cleaned for a very, very long time and it showed. And when is 'shabby chic' just that bit too shabby, rather than chic?

This hotel sits just outside the central, busy (& noisy) tourist centre of Brugges. And that's a good thing because it's quiet at night, you can park outside (and that's very rare for Brugges' hotels), but you're just a stone's throw from the central squares (literally). It sits on a canal and is composed of a collection of old merchants' houses now folded into one single hotel.

We booked a family room and it was big. Our room was on the first floor, overlooked the entrance courtyard, had three huge windows with full length heavy curtains. It was peaceful. The construct of the houses means that each room is probably different in size and shape with their own character. Ours had aircon which worked reasonably well and was not noisy. The room was fitted with period furniture but whether it was 'well worn authentic' or ' a bit bashed about' is a matter of opinion. I think they call it shabby chic or distressed! The bed was very, very comfortable and we slept well.

The bathroom was also huge. It was very, very well appointed. A big bath, twin walk-in wet room showers, a window and lovely tiling throughout. Fit and finish was a little awry with some loose fittings and the fitted hairdrier had failed and the hotel had just left a hairdrier in a box as an interim measure.

But the main room needed a deep clean. Spiders' cobwebs along the ceiling cornice and a smoke detector that looked like generations of flies had used it as a landing spot is simply unacceptable for a four-star hotel. It detracts from all of the investment made in the hotel and the friendliness of the reception staff. So the housekeeping manager and his/her staff need to make an effort to do more than a quick clean and take a proper look at their rooms every day.

You can pay a supplement for a 'canal view' room. But, whilst the canal is alright, it's hardly the best view of a Brugges' canal and I wouldn't bother. These rooms suffer from a cobbled street between them and the canal and the noise of the cars, buses and horse carriages could be problematic. The other rooms (like ours) are much quieter.


There's no evening restaurant at the hotel. It's not a problem as Brugges is awash with them and the receptionist was keen to explain options when we arrived. The front desk team also gave us a map and marked all the best points of interest and walkways for us to enjoy - that was good service.

Our breakfast was included in the room rate. The breakfast room isn't big and the staff will join tables together, as needed. The quality was good and the choice satisfactory. It has a good atmosphere. But the charge for breakfast is 22€ per person and, if it wasn't included in our room rate, there is no way I would pay 22€ for this, or perhaps any, breakfast. What's more, there are lots of little bakeries and cafe just five minutes walk away where you can have an authentic breakfast at a fraction of the cost.

A big advantage to this hotel is that there is a small public car park just opposite the entrance. There were a few spaces when we arrived and you pay through to about 8pm and then after 9am. The maximum ticket duration is two hours but the ticket machine is intelligent and splits across the evening / morning. This meant that we could park, unload our luggge and not bother moving our car until the following morning. Since we were leaving Brugges at midday we simply fed the meter machine again after breakfast which did the trick! The machine takes coins and credit / debit cards. The hotel has its own car park about ten minutes walk away but it costs about 20€ per 24hrs. They explain the directions to another public car park too which is a bit cheaper. So, one way or another, you'll get your car parked somewhere!

I would use this hotel again. The advantages far outweigh the issue of the deep clean problem in the room. Price was acceptable too. My partner does not agree though because of the cleaning issue with the cobweb, smoke detector and the fact that, to her, shabby chic is just an excuse for tatty! So a split vote.

Room Tip: Canal view room will be noisier because of that cobbled street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofie G, General Manager at Hotel Martin's Relais, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Arianne1985,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with our hotel on Tripadvisor.
We have read your comments thoroughly, because they are so in detail.

It is a pleasure for us to read you have appreciated the service and friendliness of our staff members, and the general atmosphere in the hotel. Especially my receptionists were delighted to read that you noticed their enthusiasm.

I cannot disagree on the housekeeping-issue, we had some problems recently with the cleaning staff, and we had a few complains about this, but we are working very hard to solve this issue.

If you would ever consider traveling to Bruges again, I hope you can convince your partner to come to our hotel again, so you could see the improvements we made.

I would like to apologize for the inconvenience this issue has caused to you during your stay.

Yours Sincerely,

Sofie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here. Don't be deceived by the hotel's outdoor appearance overlooking the canal! It's lovely inside. Our ground floor room was delightful, spacious, quiet, furnished with interesting old pieces, along with a garden view. Bathroom was modern, and well equipped. Staff were friendly and helpful with maps, directions, providing a jug of milk when the cartons had run out, and car parking information. Breakfast, which was included in our price was one of the best we've had, in a charming room overlooking the canal at one side and a fountain at the other. Well placed for the main square and lots of restaurants. Definitely recommend.
We parked free overnight in the square opposite, then moved the car to a public car park which was much cheaper than the hotel's parking fee. (Less than £10 for 3 days)

Room Tip: Ground floor overlooking the garden was SO peaceful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofie G, General Manager at Hotel Martin's Relais, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear MHWakefield,

Thank you for the time it took to share your comments about our hotel.

We are glad to read you have enjoyed your stay in Bruges, and in particular in our hotel. Comments like yours are a great motivation for my staff members and me, to continue providing a great service for our guests.

We truly hope we may welcome you another time in the future.

Warm regards

Sofie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Hotel feels you the atmosphere of Brugge's. Hotel location is near to (1-2 minutes by walking) markt. Hotel room is realy elegant, large and comfortable,staff were heplfull and friendly, when you check in, they give you a discount coupon which can be used in too many places in city. But it was too much giving 22 euros for breakfast, and the breakfast was not so good, it was average.
Hotel is near to a canal.

Room Tip: Do not choose a room which nears to stairs , because it was noisy. Choose a room have a canal view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This hotel was great. It is a worthy 4* hotel, the room was very elegant, spacious and had all that one could need. The staff were very helpful. The room had free safe and a mini bar that was more affordable than others, very reasonable. The only thing I could not justify paying is the price of the breakfast at around £16 per person! Brugges is very expensive in general though from last time I visited.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is the cutest, quaintest hotel I have ever stayed at. It's very old but that is what gives it character. It's very clean, always smells like a fresh flower. Pay the extra (as this hotel is not expensive) and get a room facing a canal. The service is exceptional as well. We had breakfast there every morning, there was a great selection and it was very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofie G, General Manager at Hotel Martin's Relais, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear “wantottravel”,

First of all I would like to thank you for your positive review on our hotel.

Our hotel is situated in a very old building indeed, the oldest one (it is actually made out of 5 existing buildings which are now interconnecting) is from the 17th century.

The smell you noticed is our interior perfume, which has been created by the responsible for design in our hotel chain.

Thank you again for your review, and hopefully we may welcome you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Sofie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Martin's Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Martin's Relais

Address: Genthof 4a, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Martin's Relais 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering free Wi-Fi, Martin's Relais provides rooms with original features and antique furniture in 5 historic 17th-century canal houses. The hotel benefits from a peaceful rose garden, several comfortable lounges and is only 450 metres from the Grote Markt.Satellite TV, a minibar and work desk are provided in the rooms at Relais. Each of the rooms has been uniquely decorated and include a modern bathroom with luxurious toiletries.Situated along a scenic canal in the historic centre of Bruges, this hotel is 10 minutes’ walk from the Groeninge Museum. The Concert Hall is a 15-minute walk away.The cosy bar serves local Belgian beers both inside and out on the terrace in summer. Martin's Relais also offers a breakfast buffet with Cava in the grand breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Martin's Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Martin's Relais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.