We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm-hearted, kind and loving details - Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Absoluut Verhulst

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bruges
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Absoluut Verhulst
Save
You added Absoluut Verhulst to your Saves list
Nieuwland 1, Bruges 8000 , Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 215 Bruges B&B and Inns
Wuppertal, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Warm-hearted, kind and loving details - Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Brugges is a lovely city and my partner and I always wanted to go there. So a day after NYE we spontaneously decided it was time for us. We called Frieda and she had a double room for two days - such luck for us! She and her husband Benno welcomed us a couple of hours later and we were instantly in love with their warm home. Their house is very close to the Markt (main square), a 5min walk, and still unexpectedly quiet. The rooms have an old romantic charme with wooden floors, antique luggage and mirrors. Yet, the bathroom was recently very modern and clean. Especially Frieda's+Benno's breakfast was wonderful, they really care about every detail. They've been sharing their house since 2000 and Benno's paintings are hanging on every wall. We paid 95€ per night which is totally fine for the service, the location and the spontaneity of our arrival. Only down side was the bed for us.. Unfortunately, both of us slept really bad these two nights which is probably a personal problem though since everyone has a different sleep.
In total, we would always recommend the Absoluut Verhulst in Brugges!! I only met Frieda+Benno for two days but I really wanted to hug them when we left :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
165
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay with Frieda and Benno. Lovely hospitality and absolutely delicious breakfasts. Our room was large and warm (very important for this time of year!). The house is in a quiet location, yet only a five minute walk from the main squares. There are a number of restaurants very close by too. This was our first trip to Bruges and we found it a lovely place to be for a few days. Would really recommend a stay with Frieda and Benno!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We spent three nights at this beautiful B&B and just cannot recommend it enough. We were greeted warmly by the lovely Frieda and Benno and immediately felt at home. Their house is quirky and colourful, walls adorned with Benno's imaginative paintings. They couldn't have been more helpful, providing us with a food map of where to eat, lending us a guidebook and accommodating a later breakfast time.
We stayed in the Garden room - the photos do not do it justice. Gorgeous wooden floors, huge bed, wonderfully decorated. It was warm and cosy yet had more than enough room for our stuff. The bathroom was down a flight of stairs and I loved it - big shower and airy, like something out of a show home. We looked forward to coming back to the B&B every day, which is quite a feat when you're in a city as beautiful as Bruges.
The breakfast was fantastic - a platter of breads, meats and fruit. Benno cooks eggs to order and we had omelettes all 3 days. They were superb and really set us up for the day.
The B&B is amazing value for money - it felt like a 4 star hotel, but the absolute best thing about this place is the hosts. You couldn't hope to meet a more wonderful, friendly couple and I will certainly be back again to see them.
Thank you Frieda and Benno! We loved staying in your beautiful home.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We were greeted warmly on our arrival by Frieda, at Absoluut Verhulst and having signed in, shown to a lovely room. The room was spacious and was decorated with personal touches to make it more homely. The bathroom was new and although small, served our needs.

Breakfast was served in a snug room, overlooking the courtyard, which during warmer weather (we were there in November), I'm sure is lovely. Breakfast itself was plentiful and I'd imagine any wish would be catered for, within reason, eggs cooked to order for instance.

I would stay here again and would recommend Frieda and Benno's B&B without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed at Absoluut Verhulst November 30 and December 1, 2012. To date, it's one of my favorite B&Bs in Europe. Frieda and Benno are charming, welcoming hosts and their home is lovely. As others have pointed out, the breakfasts are plentiful and very high quality. The B&B is located very close to the action, but just far enough away to ensure a quiet night's sleep. For us, this B&B ticked all the boxes and would be my first choice of places to stay in Brugge. My only caveat is that it is necessary to climb a short flight of very steep stairs to reach the rooms and I think anyone who struggles a bit with stairs would have a difficult time climbing these. Aside from that, this accomodation is perfect in every way. Thank you for a fabulous stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This is an absolute gem. Frieda and Benno are so welcoming, and are great hosts! They can offer advice on a restaurant, sightseeing, or the history of the town. They have bikes you can borrow for a small fee, and can point you in the right direction with maps for a nice ride. It rained the whole time we were there, so we didn't get to bike, :(

Breakfast was awesome. Be sure to sign the gigantic guest book while you are there. We can't wait to come back again and stay for more than 2 nights. Bruges, you are the best! We miss your beer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I have never written a review before but after our stay at Absoluut Verhulst i knew this had to be my first one. I wouldn't normally stay at such a small family run b&b but this has completely changed my thinking.

From the outside the b&b doesn't look to be much but do not be fooled the inside of the building is a beautiful modern/traditional/cosy/romantic place with walls full of Benno's quirky artworks. Freida and Benno are the owners of this little family run place and they were so welcoming, they just simply could not do enough for you.

We stayed in the Garden room which had a gorgeous view of the courtyard to the back of the house. The room was spacious, clean, cosy and more than we were ever expecting. The bed was huge and soooo comfortable and the bathroom was equally as nice (modern & clean). The room had plenty of storage space for our clothes with tea and coffee making facilities, WI FI and a television. The only slight downside was the steep staircase down to the bathroom which must be taken with care especially in the night or after a few Belgian beers. This was a small price to pay for such a beautiful room but not ideal for everybody.

We were told that breakfast was between 8.30 and 9 but that they would be happier to do it earlier or later to suit our needs. The breakfast was our favorite part of the day! With cereals, cold meats, cheese, bread, croissants, jams, spreads, fruit, nuts, yogurt, fresh orange juice, coffee, tea, water and even Benno's fantastic eggs, bacon, tomato and mushroom. Freida and Benno would occasionally check to see if you required anything else but i couldn't imagine anything else anyone would possibly need. The best breakfast both me and my Boyfriend have ever had.

We were given a key for the outside door to come and go as we pleased. The b&b was 10 minutes walk from the main market square and most of the sights which was perfect.There was a lovely little bar around the corner called Trisico which serves gorgeous pasta and sandwiches with local beer for a very reasonable price. The menu was not in English but the friendly staff but quite happy to translate.

Staying at this b&b made our trip so special and i would advise anyone to stay here. You will NOT be disappointed i guarantee it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Absoluut Verhulst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Absoluut Verhulst

Address: Nieuwland 1, Bruges 8000 , Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 215 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Absoluut Verhulst Hotel Bruges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Absoluut Verhulst, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.