We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Koffieboontje Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Koffieboontje Hotel to your Saves list
Koffieboontje Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hallestraat 4, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awful!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Despite the great location the hotel is truly horrible. I can only compare this accommodation to an old fashioned borstal/childrens home - it really is awful and should be avoided!!!! The web page is very misleading and the hotel is definitely not worthy of a 3 star rating.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    122
    104
    54
    74
See reviews for
80
175
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Skipton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We booked this hotel for a 3 night stay between Xmas and new year, the room we stayed in was a family room, room 407, if you get offered this room REFUSE it is shocking. The bathroom is tiny, the room is tiny, the tv didn't work, the sink didn't drain,there was no hot water in the mornings, condensation ran down the window and our child's bed was a grubby sofa. The hotel is dark,dismal and tired but they still know how to charge.the parking is in a grubby garage with no floor finish and they charge 20 euro. Avoid this hotel it's never seen 3 star.the whole set up is reminiscent of cheap bedsit accommodation.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We booked three nights in this "hotel" anticipating the facilities and comfort of the advertised 3star accomodation. What a disappointment,all three rooms were very shabby,uncomfortable and in need of attention.The three bedded room was reminiscient of poor student accomodation,no ventilation in the bathroom and the TV did not work and our young grandson and parents had to wait four hours for their room to be ready.Our "comfort" room was clean but the thick plastic protector on the mattress was aggravating.The warren of dark and dismal corridors are depressing and the unprotected dark stairway,on the way to the breakfast room is a safety hazard for young children.The Koffieboontje charges 4star prices for its mediocre services and if we had previewed the hotel we would certainly have walked away.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Room smells, and is not very clean. Everything looks and is old. Location is great. Breakfast is poor but enough. People is nice. Internet does not work, its better to go to the lobby when nobody is cleaning, otherwise they will just clean over you (if I do not move the girl may just clean over me). I would never come back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We were so happy with the location and the size of the appartment despite weird beds half in boxes for sofas on arrival BUT when we tried to go to sleep the noise coming up from the pub underneath and the inconsiderate smokers in the outside area kept us awake til the early hours, the staff kindly moved us the next day to a higher appartment but the girls in the front room near the outdoor area, despite the shutters, still heard all the noisy drinkers and smokers - a real let down for the hotel. The breakfast was amazing!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limoges, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

On arrival the staff were fairly unwelcoming and unhelpful.I had booked a parking space but was not told the cost 15€ per night, it was under the hotel behind a tatty plywood door and only had a dirt floor 3cms deep in dust so you couldn't put your bags down. After going to the room along artexed corridors we entered a very small room with twin beds but only one duvet to cover them, the duvet cover and pillowcases were good quality but the duvet and pillows very cheap, the bathroom must have been designed by a pygmy, the bath was tiny and with the shower over the bath but the headroom was insufficient to stand up in the bath. The water took along time to run hot and was quite discoloured, there was no windw or ventilation in the bathroom and the tiles and grouting were mouldy, the pipework under the washbasins was taped up and the towels had make-up on them before being used. There was no hot water in the morning.The breakfast room was much better with an adequate breakfast but nothing special, when jams etc ran out they were not refilled. The hotel was advertised as having free wifi throughout the hotel, there was no wifi

Room Tip: Just don't book this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I was very impressed by the location of this hotel, but that is the only endearing feature. Very central, only a few meters to the main square of Bruges and close to alot of restaurants. The staff were pleasant enough but not overly helpful. We booked a parking space in advance and on arrival found it very difficult to navigate where the car park was, which is not a surprise when it is hidden behind plywood gates covered in graffiti, down a pedestrian street. Once past the gates, the "car park" itself was just a garage with a loose dirt/dust floor and very limited space to manoeuvre. We stayed in the Annex part of the hotel, which can only be described as outdated and run down. We got to the room and it was very small, barely enough room to take one stride, the beds were soft and had mismatching sheets. I decided to take a bath in the evening, the tub itself was designed for a hobbit and the water took a long time to come through as hot. The bathroom itself was in a terrible state, all pipes were visable under the sink, there was mould on the grouting around the bath/shower, there were marks on the ceiling and to top it off, the towels had make-up marks on before I'd ever gone near it. In the morning, there was no hot water at all regardless of how long I ran the tap for. The breakfast was edible and the dining area was very atmospheric, unlike the part of the hotel we were staying in. On departure, we were presented with he bill to pay and as a lovely little kick in the face, the parking space for one night was 15€, which at no point had we been informed of. All in all, I would strongly recommend not to stay at this hotel and look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Koffieboontje Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koffieboontje Hotel

Address: Hallestraat 4, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Koffieboontje Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find Hotel Koffieboontje right in the centre of Bruges, in a quiet traffic-free shopping street close to the "Grote Markt" (central main market square).In a contemporary architectural environment, you will be staying right in the historical centre of the city, with its unsurpassed sightseeing and shopping options.All rooms have a private bathroom, a telephone, a TV, free WiFi access, a hair-dryer and free coffee and tea making facilities. In the morning you can enjoy our delicious breakfast buffet at no extra charge.For a wide choice of more than 50 Belgian beers, please visit our brasserie "Het Strijdershuis", which also has a large selection of French and South African wines on offer. Here you can chose from a variety of meals: pancakes, snacks, salads and pastas, but also regional dishes and menus.For an alternative lunch or a-la-carte diner, try our restaurant "Kwizien Divien" which offers fine food creations at an affordable price.On sunny days the hotel terrace offers a magnificent view of the Belfry of Bruges.If you are in for some action, you can rent a bicycle from the hotel to explore Bruges and its surroundings.The hotel has an annex building which does not have an elevator. Guest in these quarters dispose of the same hotel facilities as other guests. In addition, they can use bicycles for free during their entire stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Koffieboontje Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koffieboontje Hotel Bruges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koffieboontje Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.