We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, beautifully furnished & very comfortable.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De Stokerij

Save Saved
You added Hotel De Stokerij to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel De Stokerij
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hoge Dijken 2 | Oudenburg, Bruges 8460, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off
Ranked #11 of 101 hotels in Bruges
Birmingham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel, beautifully furnished & very comfortable.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I stayed here in September for a night, just happened to find this hotel online and I'm so glad. We were shown to a gorgeous annex room and couldn't believe our luck. The bedroom was furnished with antiques and the bathroom was a large wet room.

It was a great base for exploring Brugge and Oostende. The hosts were very friendly, my dodgy French/Dutch wasn't an issue as they spoke perfect English. If you like your hotels alittle different and not so cookie cutter you can't go wrong here, I can't recommend De Stokerij enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ingrid8460, Directeur général at Hotel De Stokerij, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear SammyDama,

Thank you for commenting your recent stay in our hotel.

We are delighted with your compliments about the hotel room.
The 'Antiques' Room is indeed a very beautiful room with a huge Jacuzzi in the bathroom.

We hope to welcome you once again in our hotel so you can explore another side of the region!



Kind regards,

Ingrid & Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    49
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
106
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grimbergen
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I had been there about 10 years ago on a special weekend, had kept good memories of it, and decided to return for a short weekend near the seaside. Unlike manu fine memories, this one did not let me down. The place is still as good as I remembered, the rooms nicely, warmly decorated (maybe to some tending to ovedecoration), full of nice attentions, candles, bathroom products, etc. The breakfast is wonderful: all home made products, or quality products procured from local exquisite specialists. The lady of het house is charming and really takes good care of her guests, the way you would never expect in a hotel, but rather in bed & breakfasts.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ingrid8460, Directeur général at Hotel De Stokerij, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for commenting your recent stay in our hotel.

We are enthusiastic that you returned to Oudenburg after a time lapse of 10 years.

The chef is really happy with your comments about the home made breakfast!

We hope to welcome you once again in our hotel.

Jan & Ingrid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights in his lovely B&B. We used it as a base to explore the local area including Brugge, De Haan, and WW1 sites including Ypres. The GPS had no trouble finding the hotel despite it being slightly off the main track. The hosts spoke great English and were very helpful with directions and suggestions. We enjoyed one dinner on site which was a combination cooking demonstration and dinner. The bed was a big king size which took up most of the room. The bathroom was also a good size. If you have a car and are looking for an upmarket place to indulge this is it.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ingrid8460, Directeur général at Hotel De Stokerij, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear mr. Mark S.,

Thank you for commenting your recent stay in our hotel.

We are delighted with your comments about the dinner and the room!

We hope to welcome you once again so you can explore another side of our region.

Kind regards,

Jan & Ingrid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My wife & I stayed at the De Stokerij as part of a tour of Belgium. It is set in a rural area within easy reach of Bruges & Ostend. First impressions were good. We were offered a complimentary drink on arrival & our room, although somewhat quirky, was comfortable. The hosts were very friendly & gave helpful advice about the local area. We also appreciated the home-made rolls & preserves at breakfast which was such a change from the usual chain hotel food. There was a problem with their credit card reader at the end of our stay but they were patient & helpful while this was resolved. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ingrid8460, General Manager at Hotel De Stokerij, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking time to review our Hotel!

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you once again.


Ingrid & Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Initially we were disappointed that the property was 15 KMS from Brugge which costs about E 40-50 by taxi, however that got completely forgotten on checking the rooms and then the pleasure trip started. Fab rooms with personal jacuzzi and special scented bath oils, loaded with antiques and beautiful music. The dinner was awesome, with the Chef ( and also the owner ), kept churning out one wonder after another. Ingrid was equally the perfect hostess and most charming.
A good way to reach is also from Lille ( about an hour drive ), so that you can do a circuit of Lille, brugge and gent.

Room Tip: 11 rooms, all are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ingrid8460, General Manager at Hotel De Stokerij, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Sir/Dear Madam,

First of all, we'd like to thank you for taking your time to review our hotel.

We are happy that we could persuade you with our romantic rooms with jacuzzi!
As you mentioned, we are in between Bruges & Ostend, which makes our hotel so special, with its beautiful nature.

Thank you very much with the compliments about the dinner in our restaurant, prepared by my husband Jan. It gives us a warm feeling to read these comments.

We hope to welcome you once again in our hotel.

Ingrid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Wales
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The interior is a maelstrom of eclectic decoration just the right side of cute. Our welcome was warm and professional. Ingrid was very informative and gave us many tips and hints to maximise our visit. Bruges is some 15 minutes by car - park at the railway station for €3.50 all day. Breakfast was excellent. Dinner was a substantial €37 and there its no choice of menu but allowance must be made for the ambience, convenience, service and theatre accompanying the meal. Interestingly, I failed to find the cost of the meal announced anywhere. You should experience dinner once, more often is debatable. An excellent base to explore the area and convenient for the channel, we will have no hesitation in returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ingrid8460, General Manager at Hotel De Stokerij, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Sir,
Dear Madam,

We are happy that you enjoyed your recent stay in our hotel and hope that you enjoyed your stay with our tips and hints,
The compliments about the restaurant will be communicated to Chef Jan, which will make him very happy.

We hope to welcome you once again in our hotel,

Ingrid Breda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed here one night to celebrate anniversary..the place is amazing..and hats off to the owners for keeping this place and running it the way they are..the rooms are very nice..a lot of charm..and the jacuzzi bathtub is a treat..Breakfast is great!! with amazing fresh food..The overall atmosphere is amazing with countryside quietness and peacefulness..Overall, it is a place I would recommend to anyone without any doubts..

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ingrid8460, General Manager at Hotel De Stokerij, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Mohammad H.,

Thank you for your comment about your recent stay in our hotel.
Your comments about the room and breakfast really encourages the whole team to continue with this efforts.

We hope to welcome you once again in our hotel.

Ingrid Breda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel De Stokerij? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Stokerij

Address: Hoge Dijken 2 | Oudenburg, Bruges 8460, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 101 hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De Stokerij 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel De Stokerij reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De Stokerij, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.