We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem off the motorway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De Stokerij

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel De Stokerij to your Saves list
Hotel De Stokerij
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hoge Dijken 2 | Oudenburg, Bruges 8460, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #10 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
London
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“A little gem off the motorway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Our second visit and after a quick dash from the ferry port we arrived to a friendly welcome and a great room.
A relaxing drink in the lounge that doubles as a family room with comfy chairs and a selection of unusual Belgium beers and some excellent Brandy.

Rack rates are a bit high but we managed to get a good deal as we wanted a stop over before touring Bruges for the week-end.

The real highlight was the breakfast....

A great selection of meat fish cereals.

Grandma's Terrine, Smoked Salmon, Pickled salmon, Hams, Cheeses a selection of breads and fruits etc.

I would like to come back in the summer when they open the restaurant for dinner.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    54
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
136
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zoutleeuw, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

It's a very nice, authentic Belgian hotel in the countryside. It's about a 15-20 minute drive to Bruges. The breakfast at the hotel with home made local products was excellent and is highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is a lovely hotel in the countryside but within easy reach of Brugge and the coast. Each room is individually themed and the whole hotel is quite quirky and unique. The rooms are comfortable and spacious and the breakfast room was beautiful, overlooking the fields. Everyone was very friendly and helpful (and multi-lingual) which gave it a very homely atmosphere and made for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

A little gem tucked away in the countryside but not too far from the Motorways, Brugge and Oostend.
Individual rooms with a Sea theme well presented if a little dated but in very good order, nice outdoor area for drinks etc. Unfortunatly the restaurant was not open when I was there but the breakfast was excellent.

A far cry from the anodyne chains, a little quirky but friendly

Room Tip: Try the Gypsy caravan or lodges
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Easy to find, very helpful family run hotel. Evening meal at local restaurant Louis Clesse was excellent, pre-booked by the hotel. Breakfast in hotel also excellent with many home produced articles such as smoked salmon and pate.

Room Tip: Room small but comfortable and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

This was an overnight stop on our way to Germany. We were welcomed as one of the family we ate in the hotel, the food was superb cooked by the owner almost like a cooking demonstration. We found the hotel by accident on the Internet and thank goodness we did and didn't stay at one of the chain hotels with no atmosphere. We will certainly make this a regular stop over again. Only problem was the sat nav couldn't locate the hotel and it took some time to find best to input Hoge Dijkem, Roksem, we then found it immediately.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwolle, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

At the hotel (after 4,5 ours driving) we get the message that they rent our room to other people, no phonecall no email, nothing at all, so we can go home again, we drive 652 kilometers and we get nothing!
We will never go back to this hotel!!!

Room Tip: Never back again!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel De Stokerij? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Stokerij

Address: Hoge Dijken 2 | Oudenburg, Bruges 8460, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De Stokerij 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel De Stokerij reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De Stokerij, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.