We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chocolate Magic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chocolate Line

The Chocolate Line
Simon Stevinplein 19, Bruges 8000, Belgium
0032 050 341090
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 44 Shopping in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
connecticut
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Chocolate Magic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

It is a smallish shop but you cannot go wrong. All made here this is an incredible chocolatier. We bought chocolate squares filled with praline and nuts, chocolate marzipan , chocolate bars and their chocolate tequila shots . Frankly we could have bought it all. Terrific! Fantastic flavor and simply one of a kind. Skip the brand name stores.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    52
    7
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic, tasty, and fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

My friend and I visited both Brussels and Bruge with the object to try as much chocolate, waffles, and french fries as possible. We were not disappointed with the food anywhere we went, but here was the best. The chocolate flavors ranged far and wide and the staff was extremely attentive to our likes and dislikes as they helped us fill boxes to take home. I highly recommend the Caramel Apple chocolates!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Weird, unique and delicious chocolate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

If you are visiting Bruges, Chocolate Line is a great place to try unique, high quality chocolates that you likely cannot find outside of Belgium. Are the chocolates better than Neuhaus? I am not sure, but Chocolate Line chocolates are certainly different than Neuhaus and delicious in their own right.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The best chocolate shop we found (and we tried 12 in 3 days)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

This is by far the best chocolates you'll find. I haven't found anything even close in London or the UK and I am planning to import them back to England they are that good. Nothing has come close. The flavours are balanced so perfectly and despite their shock value titles, the chocalatier hasn't gone for shock value flavours, instead what you get is a, "oh wow that tastes better than expected" on the shock value titles (like cigar (beautifully smokey and bitter)) and then on the classic favourites you get surprise like the mint, which is so fragrantly minty like an actual mint leaf. The flavours are far and away from the usual over chemically or fake tasting fruit ones and taste as if they are freshly prepared that minute and bursting with flavour but in a good way not that horrible chemical fake explosion you get in some chocolates.

This is the place to measure back from, don't try anything else...friends didn't even get the chance to try what we bought back they were that good lol

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
101 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Amazing chocolate shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Simply the best chocolate shop I've ever found, various truffles and novelty / touristy items such as cannabis / chilli / curry chocolate which presumably are more "interesting" than good. But the highlight is the slabs of 4cm thick chocolate of single origin. The white chocolate and milk chocolate slabs are great and make superb gifts.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chocolate Line also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to The Chocolate Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chocolate Line, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.