We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Thai food in a beautiful surrounding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chang Thong Thai

Chang Thong Thai
Kleine Hoefijzerstraat 1, Bruges 8000, Belgium
050334405
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 520 restaurants in Bruges
Price range: $7 - $34
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Brussels
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai food in a beautiful surrounding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 NEW via mobile

Very beautiful restaurant: stylish, warm, welcoming. And at the perfect location, about 100 meters from the main underground carpark, 't Zand, and the main concert hall in Bruges.
The staff is courteous rather than warm and that's ok with me - you don't have to feel at home in every single restaurant after all.
We only had a red curry with duck and a green curry with duck, so I don't feel very qualified to judge the cooking, but those two dishes were excellent, if unsurprising.
I'm definitely going back to try more.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    99
    16
    4
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very good experience, would happily go back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We made a reservation at this restaurant when we visited Bruges over Easter based on the strength of the TA reviews, and I'm very pleased that we did.
When we arrived the place was full but our table was waiting for us and the reception from the owner was extremely welcoming - he, like all of the staff, seems only too happy to speak English to ensure that you feel welcome and have a pleasant time in his restaurant. Please don't get the impression, though, that this is a touristy place as I can assure you that judging from the tables around us it's equally popular with locals.
Now, I'm no authority on Thai cuisine but what I can tell you is that everything we ordered was very tasty, nicely presented and served with a smile. To top it all off when the bill came at the end one simple phrase sprung to mind - 'value for money'.
We wouldn't hesitate to go back again and would highly recommend this restaurant to anybody visiting Bruges.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“By far the most friendly restaurant we tried in Bruges”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We were seated immediately despite not having a reservation, however we would reserve in advance during a future visit due to its popularity. The service was very friendly (a pleasant surprise given our treatment at other top local restaurants) and the food fantastic. Do not go looking for restaurants late in Brugge because they tend to close their doors by 22h.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very dissapointing after all good reviews...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We wanted to dine in but the place was booked full for 3 days in the row which made us think the food will be excellent.
This was also the reason why we ordered take away menu.
When we opened up the meals everything was drawning in oil... There was no other taste than oil and fat...
I am very fond of Thai cuisine and tried lots of places with perfect Thai.. this wasn't nowhere near anything which is meant to be balanced Thai taste ..
The staff was very nice though..

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great service and very welcoming....food goodish!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Read all reviews and fancied something a bit different from Flemish food one evening of our trip. A bit of a walk from the old part of the town and not that easy to find, but got there in end!
Owner was very charming and welcoming, and main part of restaurant looked very nice but we were given a table upstairs (one of only 3 tables in a small area near the toilets) even though we had booked so initially wasn't too impressed.
Staff were very friendly and can't fault service. Owner seemed a nice chap and came over to speak to us personally which was nice. Food was nice but nothing really great. Have eaten better Thai food. Don't get me wrong it was a nice restaurant and had a nice atmosphere and people were nice so I want to say good things, but in all honesty it was fine but nothing more than that on the food front. I was expecting alot more on the basis of the reviews i'd read. Starters were ok had the mixed special starter for 2 but it was a bit deep fried and greasy. I'm a pretty good cook (even though I say it myself!) and can make better satay at home. The mains were much better, a nice prawn red curry and a minced chicken, chilli and basil dish. Pad Thai was nice too and they were accommodating as they left out the vegetables for our fussy son! Would say go there if you like Thai and you'll have a nice meal, but not as great as people seem to be making out (unless the Thai food is alot better here in England!).

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chang Thong Thai also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Chang Thong Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chang Thong Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.