We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good idea but not worth the time or money.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Historium Brugge

Historium Brugge
Markt 1, Bruges 8000, Belgium
+32 50 27 03 11
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 56 Attractions in Bruges
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historium Brugge is an experience attraction and the perfect starting point from which to discover Bruges. The historically inspired and experience-oriented set-up of the attraction shows visitors how citizens of Bruges lived during the city's Golden Age. During a 1 hour performance visitors travel back in time and walk through 7 themed rooms where they will be carried away by an exciting love story that illustrates life as it was back in 1435. In a fascinating way both young and old are teached about Bruges' rich history and cultural charm. After visiting the attraction visitors can learn more about the city's medieval past in the interactive exhibition where visitors will be provided with detailed explanations about historical images and artefacts that are a part of the attraction. An interactive quiz acts as an educational and fun-filled way of transferring knowledge.The total duration of a visit is up to about 1,5 hours.After having enjoyed the unique and magnificent view over the town square from the 2nd floor's panoramic terrace, you might as well taste some nice Belgian beers at Duvelorium (Grand Beer Cafe) with covered terrace for another marvellous panoramic view over the Markt. And why not go home with some delicious handmade chocolates from the Chocolaterie?Situated in an authentic historical building in the heart of the city, Historium Brugge is the perfect gateway for a unique visit to Bruges. Historium Brugge is open daily from 10AM - 6PM (tickets until 5PM), Friday from 10AM - 8PM (tickets until 7PM).Start your visit to Bruges here. Historium is your rendezvous with history.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A good idea but not worth the time or money.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Visited the Historium and was hugely disappointed, the concept was good and some money has been spent to create this attraction, but it's certainly not supposed to be a Historium, me and my girlfriend went in hoping we would learn something about Bruges, but instead we were delivered some dribble about a love story worst than Twighlight.

It's advertised that you will experience the five senses, unfortunately the only sense I experienced was theft and lies, we even had a city card and got the tickets at a discount rate, which I still feel was to much to pay, I hope that with the money we spent on the tickets the Historium can buy a sign that says CLOSED, cause that's what it needs to be.

Go see Bruges for what it really is, I recommend the Frites Museum (which was also a bit lame) as that had more history about Bruges than this.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReneTolenaars, Manager at Historium Brugge at Historium Brugge, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear visitor,

Thank you for your recent visit at Historium.

I sincerely regret to read you left the attraction with a dissapointed feeling. Please allow me to give feedback on some points you have mentioned in your review.

I am surprised that you have not experienced the senses, because we invested a lot in creating a multiple sense experience for our visitors. The ‘smell-experience’, for example, is incorporated in the whole attraction. In the warehouse you can smell a mix of wood, cotton and leather, ivory and exotic spices. In the bath house you can smell the delicious scents of soap and when you get a glimpse of Jan Van Eyck’s painting studio you can notice the smell of paint. All this is created to get you in the right mood and atmosphere.

We created a love story in order to teach both young and old about Bruges’ rich history. I can understand that you describe the plot of the love story as a bit lame, however this is based on personal taste I think. We get a lot of positive feedback as well. The added value of Historium Brugge is not the plot of the love story, but the way ancient buildings come back to life.

Kindly be informed that based on the feedback we receive from our visitors we are working hard on some improvements in order to meet the expectations of our visitors in the future even more.

I hope we can welcome you again in the near future and can show you the beautiful and rich history of the medieval city, and be a perfect starting point to visit Bruges.

Kind regards,
René Tolenaars
Director of Sales & Marketing at Historium Brugge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    215
    114
    83
    107
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great attraction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Nice multimedia experience of Bruges in the 15th century! Shows realistic details of how the city was 500+ years ago...

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not worth the time or money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We visited the Historium because it claimed that it would teach the visitor about mediaeval Bruges. Instead we wasted 11 euros and about 25 minutes on a romanticised account of the creation of a painting. The painting itself is beautiful and well worth seeing but the Historium experience taught us nothing about Bruges itself.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
74 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Really, really awful.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I really, really wish I had consulted Trip Advisor before spending 11 euro per person on the Historium. I'm not really sure what the point was - it was billed as a historical trip through medieval Bruges, but there was nothing educational or interesting about it. The idea was good, just very poorly executed. You walk through multiple decorated rooms, each one with a small movie screen that, pieced together, tells a very silly and poorly acted story.

Seriously, don't waste your time. Bruges, with it's awesome history and beautiful buildings, shouldn't have allowed this in the city.

The only cool part was the bar at the end. But you can visit there without purchasing tickets.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Don't Waste Your Money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is a bizarre, commercial money-grab with the only redeeming feature being the superb computer-generated graphics of Medieval Bruges. Don't be seduced by the ploy that this hokey love story is fit for children --- they are too discriminating to fall for such a lame plot and bizarre collection of events. Go see Bruges. Don't waste your time or money on this sideshow.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReneTolenaars, Manager at Historium Brugge at Historium Brugge, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear visitor,

I want to thank you for your recent visit at Historium. However I sincerely regret to read you didn’t enjoy it.

The love story was created to make it all more accessible for both young and old. Even if you’re not interested in history, you can enjoy a visit to Historium because you get a glimpse of medieval Bruges in a unique way.

You can experience how it must have been to live in Bruges in the 15th century, and this makes Historium the perfect point to start your visit of Bruges. You can see how the city has evolved, how the buildings have looked like, and how they look today. In short, I think you get a better understanding of Bruges’ history.

Kind regards,
René Tolenaars
Sales & Marketing Director, Historium Brugge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Historium Brugge also viewed

 

Been to Historium Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historium Brugge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.