We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Tree

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Tree to your Saves list
Golden Tree
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hoefijzerlaan 21, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“good place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Recently restored in the right side, room was clean and freshly painted. People at reception were kind, and helped for any need. Good position for the center and useful parking. Quiet. Only negative point was the wi fi which was free, but with a really weak signal from inside the room, so it was better going in the entrance room to connect properly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    92
    49
    21
    13
See reviews for
44
111
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Hotel staff friendly and helpful. Rooms clean and we'll appointed. Excellent breakfast. Arrived early and they made our rooms ready for us. They let us leave our car in the car park the following morning.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hayling, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

This trip was with Riviera Travel who chose the hotel. It was a very nice hotel with very friendly owners and staff. It is close to all amenities of the town, and many restaurants within easy walking distance. Four of us went and we had beautiful rooms which were separate from the main hotel. One was appointed especially for disabled use and was very convenient for that purpose. Breakfast was plentiful, of a continental style. Alcohol and other drinks could be obtained and enjoyed in the conservatory or in the outside seating area.

Room Tip: Do not know about other rooms. Rooms 3 and 4 were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

This hotel is very good value. The building is beautiful, the whole place very clean and comfortable. The staff are alert, helpful, well informed and welcoming. An ample continental breakfast is provided. The centre of Bruges is very close.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford,Surrey,England.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

It has been almost four years since I last reviewed this hotel and it is still excellent.
In those intervening years I must have stayed at least fifteen or twenty times, you see it is easy to get to by car and once you squeeze through the narrow entrance to their car park there is ample space for the car and it is cheaper and safer than the municipal car parks.
The place is as clean as ever with an excellent breakfast (I refer you to Sunshineman7's review for more details) and a very good free wifi system that is easy to log in to.
This is a family owned and run hotel so the chances are that the person at the check in is the owner so any questions or problems you may have can be addressed there and then.
Being so close to t'zand it is the ideal place to stay for a shopping trip to the Saturday market, equally it is only around ten minutes from "Market Square" (The square in the center of town).
Even though the Hotel is close to quite a busy road the double glazing keeps the rooms surprisingly quiet.
There is no air conditioning in the Hotel so on those few hot summer days some of the rooms can get a little warm.
Originally what now is the Golden Tree was a merchants house hence some of its special features including the cobbled court yard (now the car park) and what was once stables that have been turned into accommodation. These have been subject to major refurbishment in the last few months and in my opinion are quite stunning.
As a regular guest at this hotel I am bound to be a little bias. I have always been treated with great courtesy and respect, any issues I have had have been quickly resolved, when I've needed information about the town etc it has always been given in the most helpful manor.
This is my over view of a place that has become almost my home from home, please look at reviews from other members for more fine detail, I hope you enjoy the place as much as I have done over the years.

Room Tip: See if you can get one of the refurbished rooms in the old stable block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

had 3 super nights staying here ,our room was always clean with everything working including wifi a new feature, breakfast is one of the best I have had with a vast selection, many rolls and bread including wholemeal , boil your eggs to your own liking with the timers, its location is a plus 5 mins walk to the square which has a busy market on a Saturday,brugge has an abundance of shops-restaurants-bars along with the historic buildings, with the aid of the map given by reception you can find the many chocolate shops. for a unique pub try the t' brugs beertje ( the little brown bear ) it is always heaving but there is a room and bar at the back so you can always squeeze in. if using the hotel car park it is a bit tight to enter so go slow

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth. UK
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Our stay was good, our room was on the top floor accessed by a lift. As we were in the loft, there was no window to look out of over Brugge and was very warm as could not open skylight, Avoid this room 31 if you can as you have to smash a smash box to obtain a key to another room for escape in the event of an emergency. Entrance and odour to hotel can be off putting to some, whilst rooms are updated, hotel foyer could do with some TLC. Breakfast is served in the dining room and is cramped although there is everything you need. Staff were warn and friendly and yes we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid room 31
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tree

Address: Hoefijzerlaan 21, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Tree 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Golden Tree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tree Hotel Bruges
Golden Tree Bruges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Tree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.