We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Tree

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Tree to your Saves list
Golden Tree
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hoefijzerlaan 21, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We arrived in Bruges to do a few hours of shopping, eat chocolate, drink a few beers and head on our way. But found ourselves having to stay overnight due to the fact that our luggage was stolen out of our car. Everyone in Bruges was very surprised to hear that, since the crime rate is low there. Our friends who we were traveling with us are from England, and all of her very important medicines and lap top were stolen as well. We had nothing but the clothes on our backs. It was getting late on and we needed a hotel, we happened to come across the Golden Tree. Francine the owner was the nicest and most helpful person. Not only did she make a way for us to have a room, but provided night clothes, extra pillows and such, great parking, and provided an excellent breakfast. She went way beyond the call of duty, helped our friends get the medication they needed from the UK, and helped us get into her other hotel across the city center. Both of the hotels (the other The Academy) are excellent, clean, comfortable, convenient, and the breakfasts are wonderful. We will stay again with Francine and either of these hotels in the future if we ever find ourselves in Bruges again. Also the charity shops especially the Sue Ryder (I believe) were awesome to help out with clothes and shoes. We had a wonderful time and experience, everyone friendly and helpful, besides the fact that we were robbed. We decided that whoever did such a crime could not have been from Bruges!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    92
    50
    21
    13
See reviews for
44
112
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011 via mobile

Had a delightful stay, nice breakfasts, rooms clean and comfortable. Some traffic noise if sleeping on main road as rooms are not double glazed. Beautiful hotel with original features

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We had only been in Brugge when we had all of our luggage stolen. We found this hotel purely by chance and so thankful that we did. The hotel owner was absolutely brilliant. She helped us out with nightclothes, arranged for us to move to her other hotel the following night as our room was already prebooked. Because of special medicines that I have to take I had to have them couriered over from the UK and she kindly allowed us to use the hotel as a delivery address and told us she would bring them over to the other hotel as soon as they had arrived. I have nothing but praise and admiration for this lady and her staff, they went above and beyond to help us. The hotel itself was very comfortable and clean. We couldnt hear any traffic even though our room was in the courtyard opposite the entrance to the car park. Breakfast was fantastic with a large selection of very good food. All in all I am so glad we stayed there and if we visit Brugge again we will most certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

hotel very nice and clean very comfortable beds only downfall no tea making facilities in rooms which i thought most hotels would provide these days

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights mid-October 2011. The hotel is located on a very busy dual carriageway by the Z'and Square near to the bus garage. I should say it's in a great location being just 5-10 mins walk from the main square in Brugge. Knowing that it was in a noisy location, I requested a quiet room and was informed that my room (room 19) was one of the quieter rooms. Well....If this was one of the quieter rooms, I'd hate to stop in a noisy room!! It was like trying to sleep on the hard shoulder of the M6 at times!

The noise probably wouldn't have been so noticable if I could've kept my window closed. However, the central heating was hotter than the surface of the sun and couldn't be controlled - despite being told that every radiator could be adjusted!

Apart from these couple of 'blips', everything else was ok. The room itself was ok - quite modern. One slight gripe was the size of the single beds. They're just too small!

The breakfast was a highlight. It was continental but everything was fresh and plentiful.

Overall, £85 per room per night is about right and I would have no hesitation in using this hotel again.

Room Tip: Insist on a quiet room!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Stayed here as part of a tour group. Our room was in the main building at the back and very quiet although rather small. There was plently of wardrobe space, a safe in the room and the en suite was very modern. Breakfast was continental but there was plenty of choice from fruit through yoghurts to boiled egg and toast.
The only drawback was that reception shut at 8pm and there was no chance of buying a drink after about 7pm. However the staff were friendly, the beds comfortable and the water was hot.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ski
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

We were for woman staying three noghts in this hotel. we got tooms in a side building of the hotel. The rooms were nice, but a bit cold bevause of what the flooe was made of, some plastic that looked as if it was a carpet floor.

But, the rooms were quiet and calm and you could not hear any noise from the road just outside the hotel.

The main buiding is very nice, high ceelings, nice decoration in the ceeling and a very nice reception.

Breakfast was quite simple, but you could boil your egg self, get it hot and boiled the way you wish yourself. They also played some nice classical music in the background, lovely.

The lady that was the manager is helpful and gave us a good tip for a reastaurant and also nicw places to visit nearby Brûgge.

We missed a good place to sit in the reception or any other places.

The hotel is situated a few blokcks awau from the consert house and the tiny smal streets.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tree

Address: Hoefijzerlaan 21, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Tree 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Golden Tree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tree Hotel Bruges
Golden Tree Bruges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Tree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.